View Single Post
Old February 1st, 2011, 07:04 PM   #30 (permalink)
Penguissimo

Device(s): Galaxy Nexus (VZW)
Carrier: Not Provided

Quote:
Originally Posted by substanceneil View Post
Penguissimo:

I am a newb with android and did not realize that there was system data that nandroid will not back up. I think you are right--the radio software was updated and I lost my T-mobile GSM capability. The nandroid restore did not restore the old radio software. I tried various methods of restoring including data wipes and factory reset, etc...

Interesting things with my updates:

1) the voice quality improved completely, but only for a few calls. even before my restore, I was back having to use a BT to make calls.

2) the SBF update worked well, but the OTA update led to a issue wtih the touchscreen. I wasn't able to even unlock the phone. I had to re-SBF. I tried several times. looks like the newest software has some incompatibility with my DP's touchscreen.

3) The battery life is now WAAAAY better. I used to use an extended battery and keep my old standard in my wallet. I used to limit GPS, wifi, etc. Now I can last nearly two days without such judicious use of my radios.

Live and learn.

I am leaving my job soon, and will lose my free Verizon connection. At that point, I will upgrade my T-mobile to include a data plan and shop for a new phone. Nexus S looks nice. CLIQ2 looks nice. Any suggestions?

Neil
Glad so many other things were an upgrade for you! Sorry you lost the T-Mobile ability, but it sounds like it won't really be an issue down the road anyway. It's interesting that there are so many quirks with the release software on a pre-release phone.