Originally Posted by Gyannea
When you say that 'fastboot devices' will completely wipe your phone does that mean the entire operating system or JUST the applications and setups that I have personally installed and any data that is due to my actions? In otherwords, am I back to a 'fresh' operating system or do i have to re-install the operating system?
Oh, apologies here, Gyannea! Definitely my bad and a mistake in where that warning ended-up.
A "fastboot devices" will NOT wipe the device
... I added that section after I put the warning about the "fastboot oem unlock" (which WILL wipe your device)
and failed to move the warning to the proper place (which I have now down, by the way).
So, just to be clear, the "fastboot devices" is simply to ensure that the fastboot utility can see / communicate with your device.
The "fastboot oem unlock" command will actually wipe the device
(I'm guessing that its similar to a factory reset).
You won't have to reinstall the operating system, but I'm pretty sure you'll lose your "setup" (apps and data settings, etc.). This is why you normally do this right after you get your device and before you've done any setup that you would have to re-do as a result of unlocking the bootloader.
Does that make sense?
Sorry again for the misunderstanding