View Single Post
Old February 2nd, 2012, 01:27 PM   #65 (permalink)
drexappeal

Device(s): G Note 3 Sprint (Jet Black), LG G3 Sprint (Gold), MoPhoQ Sprint, Mopho Sprint & G Note 8.0 Wi-fi
Carrier: Sprint

Thanked 2,813 Times in 1,898 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boffy1 View Post
Yes I have taken note that there are functionality issues with other than a razr. I assume, as many others on here have, that there will be an update to address those issues at some point.

Regarding AutoCAD on android, Autodesk has put out an app for both iPad and android that is similar to their drawing viewer software except that it allows some AutoCAD utility such as drawing lines, etc. and being able to measure objects. I use it mostly on return visits to a site I have worked on (I'm a land surveyor) to verify that the mapping has been drawn correctly and nothing is missing. I occasionally add objects or notes which I can then download back at the office to make corrections. Not real useful on the phone, but very useful on the iPad and surely on an android tablet as well.

Having said all that, 90% of the time I would be using whatever I get (true tablet or this lapdock) to surf, read ebooks, or read/answer email. The plus for the lapdock (in my mind) is that I can have a 3G tablet-like experience without having to pay for another data line. It's not as "elegant" as a tablet, but it gets me that other piece of the puzzle -- cell connection without paying for another line.

Incidentally I dropped by a local Verizon store today and they had the 100 on display. It is the first time I had seen one in person. Pretty neat stuff. I liked the keyboard feel, and the screen looks just like a netbook.

Something else that I like vs. the iPad is the full-sized USB ports. For my needs, this is a great plus.