hmm - looking further into this from 'people' when I select 'menu' and 'view' I am then presented with the option of 'phone', 'sd' or 'gmail'.
This seems to imply that the other contacts that I have already sent to gmail are being read from that account and not on the phone as such??
How does this work then should I do a complete restore - will they just appear back on the phone and does that mean if I change a contact phone number to an existing entry that this change is updated on the phone and in gmail??
Sorry to ask dim questions but I'm new to all this!