You might lose things like contacts or apps that are stored on your phone. I usually just make sure they are all loaded on my Google account on line, and they will be restored when you activate the phone again. Anything on your SD card should be fine and shouldn't be wiped....
Were you able to find the USB connection menu at all? See what the settings are anyways....?