At what point in the process does everything get erased & reset? Is it when we do the data reset/dalvic wipe/cache wipe or is it some point before that?
The reason I ask is because my wife got her Evo V on the 3rd of June and has proceeded to load everything and then some on there. She also has it all set-up how she wants it. Of course she did all this before I could do anything with it.
I know it says in the OP that this process erases & resets everything so, my question is, when I install the recovery and do the back-up, will that back-up save all of her settings & stuff so that I can restore it after I root it and install a ROM?
If I can't get it back to how she has it now, I doubt she'll let me touch the thing!