Originally Posted by shannon702
I did a factory reset from the settings—privacy menu. ill try what you guys mentioned. what exactly dies this do? sorry I'm so stupid when it comes to this technology rooting stuff lol
It's basically the rooted version of a factory reset. It will wipe all data. So you will lose any apps that aren't system apps. You will lose all text messages, etc. You can use an app such as titanium backup or rom toolbox to backup anything you need or want to save. Although, you'd have to download it with that other person's play store account
But it sounds like you just got the phone and want to start fresh anyway, so it's probably good to wipe all data. Really, the previous owner should have done that.
Wiping data will not take away root access or anything like that. Just make sure you choose to wipe data/factory reset, and not format all partitions.