View Single Post
Old November 19th, 2012, 07:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
scotty85
AF Addict

Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanked 6,784 Times in 4,267 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben1991 View Post
Hi Guys,

Bit of a newbie here, I've looked through your forums and others, but pretty sure I've not come across the same problem I'm experiencing.

Basically my HTC won't start up, you press the power button and all you will get is the HTC logo, and sometimes it will just continuously restart but always get stuck on the same HTC logo startup screen.

I've not rooted or even attempted to mess around with any of the software/firmware, etc. So it can't be anything to do with that.

I've attempted to factory reset and recover the device through the android screen that you can get through holding down the volume button, but none of this has worked either.

I've had the phone for about 2 years, with no problems until now. I believe the version of android is 2.2 or 2.3. Not 100% sure though.

Can anyone help me???

Thanks,

Ben
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwood03 View Post
watching this with interest as my HD did a software update friday and niow is stuck in what i believe is the 'boot loop'''with just teh HTC logo. Tried the recovery liek you but its not having any of it.....so spent hours trying to understand hiow teh heck one does a refresh etc of the RUU which i gather is the way forward.....
definately try granites advice above.

if you are still not booting afterward, a couple of questions:

1)you are stable in the hboot screen(white,colored letters), correct?

2) are either of you experiencing 7 short vibrations when trying to boot?

the next step in attempting recovery would be to try and run an RUU to relfash factory software. since you are unrooted,and unmodified we will need to try and find a compatible ruu to run,since the phone will be doing several security checks.