View Single Post
Old February 10th, 2013, 10:21 PM   #275 (permalink)
Dngrsone

Device(s): Samsung Galaxy S II 'Epic 4G Touch' SPH-D710, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0
Carrier: Sprint

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyBlues View Post
First of all, that's WOman.
Whatever, HUman. You all look and sound the same to me.

Quote:
Second of all, when I started playing Roller Coaster Tycoon, circa 1999 or 2000, Linux wasn't NEARLY as popular or well known as it is now. So complaining back THEN wouldn't make sense.
So, you grandfathered your one favorite app in...

Quote:
Sorry, but that's a piss-poor analogy.
Wow... I think this is the very first time that anyone has ever told me that.

Quote:
For me, it's not ONLY that Linux is vastly superior to m$ products in every conceivable way, such as security, stability, customization, power, etc., but there's also the principle involved of not supporting a company whose shady, often illegal, business practices got them where they are.
As opposed to whom? Do you know of a computer hardware company that hasn't done the same? What are you running your precious Linux on?

Quote:
Or should I say WERE. I can only imagine the anguish in Redmond as Linux has overtaken the world.
Yeah... no. Unless Linux is suddenly the overwhelming OS of choice in the corporate world, then I seriously doubt Redmond is sweating much at all.

Quote:
You do use Android, right? So a better analogy would be, "I'd love a slice of apple pie with vanilla ice cream on top, rather than my usual chocolate cake. However, the apple pie is made in a third-world sweatshop where people work 15 hour days for pennies, and on principle I can't support that. So I'll stick with the chocolate cake made in the US for living wages."
Again, what hardware are you using?

Last I heard, Microsoft does most of their work here in the good old US of A. On top of that, do any coders really work for pennies? I always thought they worked for donuts and caffeine.