Football Fans: Download the 2012 Schedule App from Google Play!


Go Back   Android Forums > Android Community > The Lounge > Computers & IT



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old September 15th, 2011, 02:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
andruoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 613
 
Device(s): HTC Desire
Thanks: 99
Thanked 151 Times in 115 Posts
Default Gotta love the fake IT calls

Scam/Spam IT "Support" Calls
Anyone else here getting fake IT emergency calls? Someone calls you saying "Hi I'm so-in-so from the IT helpdesk/tech support and we have been monitoring your computer, you have a problem with a virus" or "your system has been compromised." "Here is how we can help".

...really? I say; what do i have to do?

Caller says: is your computer on?
No I say.
[first error on his part, how can he be monitoring my computer if the thing is off ]

Caller says: turn on the computer and login.
I say, OK done.
Caller says: click on the Start button. I say, Start button? There is no Start button, you are right! Something is wrong! What do I do?

Caller says: are you sure there is no Start button?
Yes I assured him.

I told him there is a Foot print mark in it's place. Caller says Foot print? I say yeah, ever heard of Gnome in Linux? I'd play along a bit more pal but I'm hungry and want to finish off my sandwich, bye.

...We have 2 phone lines in the house and this is the 4th call in a few months. I have call block but they are probably a different group each time. Like i said, if I wasn't hungry I would have wasted a bit more of his time.

andruoid is offline  
Last edited by andruoid; September 15th, 2011 at 03:48 PM. Reason: better format
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andruoid For This Useful Post:
Luke Kellett (September 16th, 2011)
Sponsors
Old September 15th, 2011, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Antidisestablishmentarian
 
johnlgalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 3rd Rock
Posts: 8,431
 
Device(s): Motorola® DROID® BIONIC®
Thanks: 1,836
Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,154 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to johnlgalt Send a message via MSN to johnlgalt Send a message via Yahoo to johnlgalt Send a message via Skype™ to johnlgalt johnlgalt@gmail.com
Default

Never gotten those calls. Lol.

You handled it well - gives me food for thought....
__________________

Files for the Motorola® DROID® BIONIC®:
Motorola USB drivers v5.5.0- 32bit | Motorola USB drivers v5.5.0- 64bit | Motorola RSD Lite v5.7
johnlgalt is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 09:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Frank Burns Eats Worms!
 
9to5cynic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Evo Root Forum, Lounge, Forum Games.
Posts: 3,280
 
Device(s): Evo 4G - CleanRom 2.0 (April '12)
Thanks: 1,761
Thanked 1,122 Times in 785 Posts
Send a message via AIM to 9to5cynic
Default

Failed social engineering? Very well handled though.
9to5cynic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 10:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Antidisestablishmentarian
 
johnlgalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 3rd Rock
Posts: 8,431
 
Device(s): Motorola® DROID® BIONIC®
Thanks: 1,836
Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,154 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to johnlgalt Send a message via MSN to johnlgalt Send a message via Yahoo to johnlgalt Send a message via Skype™ to johnlgalt johnlgalt@gmail.com
Default

There used to be an awesome script to be used against telemarketers- let me look for it - I don't have it anymore b/c of my failed HDs last month....
johnlgalt is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2011, 10:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Antidisestablishmentarian
 
johnlgalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 3rd Rock
Posts: 8,431
 
Device(s): Motorola® DROID® BIONIC®
Thanks: 1,836
Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,154 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to johnlgalt Send a message via MSN to johnlgalt Send a message via Yahoo to johnlgalt Send a message via Skype™ to johnlgalt johnlgalt@gmail.com
Default

Bingo! anti-telemarketing EGBG counterscript
johnlgalt is online now  
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to johnlgalt For This Useful Post:
9to5cynic (September 16th, 2011), NightAngel79 (September 17th, 2011), SUroot (September 17th, 2011)
Old September 16th, 2011, 01:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 69
 
Device(s): Google Nexus One, HTC Hero, B&N Nook, HUAWEI IDEOS S7 Slim
Thanks: 7
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Awesome play dude, I hope I get one of those calls so I can do the same :-)
Luke Kellett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2011, 09:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
A.Nonymous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,252
 
Device(s): Incredible 2, Kindle Fire, Galaxy Tab 10.1 I/O edition
Thanks: 52
Thanked 773 Times in 552 Posts
Default

You know, you're the second person now I've heard that's gotten a call like this. There must be some sort of scam going on.
A.Nonymous is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2011, 06:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
ROM Developer
 
SUroot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 18,380
 
Device(s): HTC Desire Running dGB & Ubuntu 10.10
Thanks: 1,462
Thanked 3,744 Times in 2,865 Posts
Default

I've never heard of it before.

If anyone else gets one, please would they mind playing along so we know what they're after? Give them fake everything though
__________________
"I am only responsible for what I say. Not for what you understand"


Developer of:
[ROM-AOSP]dGB#2.3.5#375MB/data#60MB/system
Desire Root/memory Guides & FAQs
SUroot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2011, 09:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
andruoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 613
 
Device(s): HTC Desire
Thanks: 99
Thanked 151 Times in 115 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SUroot View Post
I've never heard of it before.

If anyone else gets one, please would they mind playing along so we know what they're after? Give them fake everything though
Next time (and I'm sure there will be one) I will.
andruoid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2011, 01:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
starxpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TF Industries
Posts: 390
 
Device(s): Huawei Ascend M860 (Defunct, coworker bricked the phone by her boot).
Thanks: 34
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
Send a message via MSN to starxpilot Send a message via Yahoo to starxpilot
Default

I have NEVER heard of this....really wish I'd get a call, love to play with them. :3
starxpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Sponsors
Old September 17th, 2011, 01:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Bounty Hunter Manager
 
NightAngel79's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern Ky
Posts: 17,004
 
Device(s): HTC Rezound Incredible (retired)
Thanks: 8,844
Thanked 3,737 Times in 2,657 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to NightAngel79
Default

It would releave some boredom
__________________

Sync your files online and across computers with Dropbox. 2.5GB account is free! And get extra free space from referrals - Just click here and sign up
Site Rules/Guidelines and Zero Tolerance Policy
GoogleTv Forums
Carrier Coverage
NightAngel79 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2011, 03:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Casual Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: England
Posts: 535
 
Device(s): HTC Desire -Nexus S -GS2
Thanks: 29
Thanked 87 Times in 72 Posts
Default

Oddly, my mother got one of these calls whilst I was there, I didn't handle it quite as well as you though,the bloke got a load of expletives shouted at him (by me,damn my foul mouth)

I've got her using Linux though, mainly because she's using my old Toshiba laptop from years gone by, but she gets so many spam callers she's kind of adept a recognising the fake callers from the real ones.

It's still not nice though, for them to target people who are not so sure of computers and new technology, it's obvious to see why some are still scared to embrace it all.

It wouldn't surprise me if they where going to get you to open the browser and download a virus or something.
__________________

Absentem laedit cum ebrio qui litigat


Dropbox Link
Casual Pete is online now  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Go Back   Android Forums > Android Community > The Lounge > Computers & IT User CP
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Custom vBulletin Skins by: Relivo