Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > Samsung Dart > Dart - All Things Root

Get excited for the Samsung Galaxy S5! Find everything you need and discuss it in our Galaxy S5 Forum!

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By t499user
  • 1 Post By dewdle

test: Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old July 26th, 2011, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Samsung Dart T499 Rooted

I got this thing rooted with superoneclick for Galaxy S.

I will post link to rooting tool and a guide after work over the next few days.

I am working on a rom dump as well, I was hopeing to compile a bit of info on this phone.

Heres the link http://www.megaupload.com/?d=80IAHHZC

steph2 is offline  
Last edited by steph2; August 4th, 2011 at 05:58 PM. Reason: add link
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old July 30th, 2011, 09:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 13
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steph2 View Post
I got this thing rooted with superoneclick for Galaxy S.

I will post link to rooting tool and a guide after work over the next few days.

I am working on a rom dump as well, I was hopeing to compile a bit of info on this phone.

Nice! I've been waiting for this. Did you get your phone after seeing it for $100 at slickdeals.net?

I absolutely love this phone, it's so light & small in the pocket yet full featured android, though with suck screen. I don't use my Galaxy S GTi9000m anymore, can't wait for root.
aston4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2011, 01:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I also rooted the Samsung Dart SGH-T499. Used Superoneclick 1.6.5.
Been testing apps and usability seems fine. Now I need an overclocking kernal for further testing.
trunk8d is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to trunk8d For This Useful Post:
dewdle (April 16th, 2012)
Old January 12th, 2012, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default USB Mass storage

You dont need this guide all you have to do is enable usb mass storage on your samsung dart along with usb debugging and use super one click. Had phone rooted in 5 minutes. Enabling usb mass storage installs all needed drivers and adb.
Hinzman420 is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hinzman420 For This Useful Post:
dewdle (April 16th, 2012)
Old January 16th, 2012, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
t499user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 38
 
Device(s): SGS2, SGH-T499
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

ROFL, seriously, just link to SuperOneClick. SuperOneClick | shortfuse.org

You guys make me laugh.

Now that you have root, go and do something good on it, like sim/network unlock it
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1335548
sandpipershore likes this.
t499user is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to t499user For This Useful Post:
dewdle (April 16th, 2012), sandpipershore (August 24th, 2012)
Old January 17th, 2012, 01:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i need help... i am new here and i want to root my samsung dart and i dunno what i am doing.. i wanna to cheat zenonia 3 lol
stfb1055 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2012, 09:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am trying to root my dart but gets stuck at Step # 5 "Waitfor Device". Any idea how to get it to work? Currently running Superoneclick v2.3.3.0. Thanks in advance.
javahooked is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2012, 04:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by javahooked View Post
I am trying to root my dart but gets stuck at Step # 5 "Waitfor Device". Any idea how to get it to work? Currently running Superoneclick v2.3.3.0. Thanks in advance.
You sure you have all the drivers installed?

It worked perfectly for me using Superoneclick 2.3.3
pclov3r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2012, 07:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default dart

i know that most mini ROMs arent cross compatible with the Samsung T-499(galaxy mini rebranded by T-mobile) but is there any work-around to get this compatible with the Dart? by flashing the beta here i did get it to boot, though i had no service from T-mobile and upon attempting to shut down the phone it simply rebooted continuously. the dart is surprisingly unsupported when it comes to anything regarding Roms and such, and i was wondering if we could change this. im not much of a developer but id be willing to help out any way needed to change this. i was considering starting a thread just for the dart to see what i could come up with.

edit: the thread I started for the dart can be located here
ShawnnKushh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2012, 02:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
 
Device(s): LG9 Optimus P769-20h / Android 4.1.2 Retired: Samsung Dart SGH-T499
Carrier: T-Mobile Pay-As-You-Go+Wifi

Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

I'm a newbie smartphone user, and never tweaked/hacked our 3g phones. Since helpful info was spread across a few different places, I made myself a mini-tutorial with links to help me get through the rooting of my Dart phone, then added comments as I went through the rooting.

Not sure if it matters, but I haven't setup any cellphone plans on it yet - so far I've only connected via wifi (at home, not in public). So all of this was done via WiFi only.

1. DL'd SuperOneClick onto PC desktop from:
SuperOneClick | shortfuse.org
(scroll past big screenshot - SuperOneClick "requires .Net Framework 2.0 or higher to operate", extract zip to desktop, and make sure to be in Admin mode on laptop/PC when running SuperOneClick)

2. Loaded this tutorial on laptop:
Root Any Android Device And Samsung Captivate With Super One-Click App

- Step 2 has us connect our phone to our pc via USB cable - Windows had to look up and install drivers for the USB-to-Android connection, since I hadn't connected Dart to my laptop yet - it took a few minutes to install the handful of drivers.

- Step 3 of tutorial has us enable USB Debugging on our Dart - here's a pictorial of how to enable USB Debugging on the Android:
How to Enable Usb Debugging Android Mobile | Geekprison.com iOS, Android,Jailbreaking

- Step 5 does not apply to Dart phones, skip to step 6 - After clicking Root button, lotsa techie/code stuff scrolls by for a few minutes, asks if I want BUSYBOX - say YES because later on a Root-App complained about me not having it (which was fixed by rebooting). Finally, SuperOneClick tells me it's done, do I want to test it, sure - the result: OK (but I forgot to do step 7, which is "Allow Non Market Apps" button in SuperOneCLick, which might have contributed to some minor problems later - anyway I'm reloading SuperOneClick to do that button, just in case).

So I guess I'm rooted now? YES!! There's a SUPERUSER Icon in my apps menu, yay?

---
PS: This is where I should have rebooted my Dart - had the tutorial told me to LOL, but it still worked out.
---

I install my first app-that-requires-root: Titanium Backup. Once DL'd and installed, Titanium BU is asking for root rights - OMG it failed, saying I don't have BusyBox (which I said yes to during SuperOneClick).

Well maybe "rebooting" might help? I power-down, restart, NOW Titanium Backup is working.

Now Titanium Backup is warning me that "your ROM is rooted but the "su" binary has non-optimal access rights, which may cause problems...Titanium BU can fix this problem autmatically in many cases. Do you want to proceed?

Well sure, now I have to reboot again (at least Titanium Backup tells me to LOL)

Restarted 2nd time, backed up a few apps I did stuff with. So it seems all is going well.

Now trying another root-required-app Adfree, no complaints about SuperUser permissions, whew! It seems I'm properly rooted finally.

Good luck!
sandpipershore likes this.
dewdle is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dewdle For This Useful Post:
sandpipershore (August 24th, 2012), Sanzenbacher (April 30th, 2012)
sponsored links
Old November 8th, 2012, 05:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

did you make a total system backup after you rooted it? i rooted my phone (to try to open up some system memory by moving/removing native apps) could you post a link to a backup?
Bullfrog1986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > Samsung Dart > Dart - All Things Root
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.