Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > LG Optimus F6

test: Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old November 9th, 2013, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Usb otg

Anyone use usb otg to connect a keyboard to an optimus?

I assume it will work but just curious about other experience.

Advertisements
hellamopeds is offline  
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old November 19th, 2013, 05:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Tokenpoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,065
 
Device(s): sgsIII, pure stock samsung galaxy tab 2 7.0 dualbooting stock and pacrom Lg F6 rooted SgS3 4.3 ro
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 299
Thanked 1,113 Times in 607 Posts
Secondgenmonkey@gmail.com
Default

I have not tried. Have you had any progress on this question?
__________________
looking for local miami music? in a miami band and want free promo and show tips, no strings attached? www.facebook.com/hahopromotions show updates, music news and free stuff!!! i help here for free, so i figured i can do this too!!! enjoy!
Tokenpoke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2013, 02:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ordering one this week.
hellamopeds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2014, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
hugerichman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 107
 
Device(s): Lg motion 4g (rooted) Cyanogen Mod 10.1 ----------------------- Lg optimus f6 (rooted) CWM ----
Carrier: metro pcs

Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

No this does not work most otg cables only work for samsung phone/tablets
hugerichman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2014, 05:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
jokerpks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Posts: 331
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 149
Thanked 106 Times in 67 Posts
Default

I was considering buying this phone but the lack of otg seems like a major downgrade. I own the Fierce which supports otg even thought it states on many websites it does not. (aka lazy moderators who don't bother to check and add wrong info). Can someone please check? Don't just assume that's not what I'm asking...

BTW even if you don't have the cable you can just check by going to SETTING / STORAGE and scroll down if the phone has the option to mount USB storage that means it supports it. Thanks in advance.
jokerpks is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 05:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Orlando Florida
Gender: Male
Posts: 55
 
Device(s): LG F6, Samsung Galaxy Nexus S, LG Optimus S
Carrier: T-Mobile Business

Thanks: 13
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

YES, it does

I went to SETTING / STORAGE and scrolled down to mount USB storage. It's there om my F6 from T-Mobile (Business)
Stevie D is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 07:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
jokerpks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Posts: 331
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 149
Thanked 106 Times in 67 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie D View Post
YES, it does

I went to SETTING / STORAGE and scrolled down to mount USB storage. It's there om my F6 from T-Mobile (Business)

Thanks for checking can you please post a screenshot. About otg is all I needed to know now I'll get it on Friday for sure.
jokerpks is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
AF Contributor
 
jhtalisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Nashvegas, Tn
Gender: Male
Posts: 310
 
Device(s): T-MOBILE HTC ONE M8 STOCK, LG G Pad 8.3 Stock Rooted
Carrier: T-Mobile

Thanks: 23
Thanked 87 Times in 61 Posts
Default

Here is a screenshot from my wife's. I don't know if it will only detect if it is plugged in (my HTC One shows it all the time) but I cannot check since I lost my USB OTG cable.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/60667705/Screenshot_2014-01-16-21-42-34.png
jhtalisman is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jhtalisman For This Useful Post:
jokerpks (January 16th, 2014)
Old January 16th, 2014, 10:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
jokerpks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Posts: 331
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 149
Thanked 106 Times in 67 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhtalisman View Post
Here is a screenshot from my wife's. I don't know if it will only detect if it is plugged in (my HTC One shows it all the time) but I cannot check since I lost my USB OTG cable.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/60667705/Screenshot_2014-01-16-21-42-34.png

Thanks looks like it will be more of an downgrade plus the extremely limited internal storage... I guess its only $100 more expensive cause of LTE which I can live without I don't care about NFC.
jokerpks is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2014, 06:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevie D View Post
YES, it does

I went to SETTING / STORAGE and scrolled down to mount USB storage. It's there om my F6 from T-Mobile (Business)
How did you get it to show up? I have the exact same phone (with MteroPCS, not T-Mobile) and I don't have that option. I have an OTG cable and a USB flash drive that I was trying to test, but I don't see that option, and the flash drive isn't even powered when I plug it in. I've had the cable for over a year and don't think I ever used it till now, so it may be broken.
yowann is offline  
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old March 16th, 2014, 08:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
jokerpks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York
Gender: Male
Posts: 331
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 149
Thanked 106 Times in 67 Posts
Default

He obviously doesn't have that option.......
jokerpks is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2014, 08:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jokerpks View Post
He obviously doesn't have that option.......
Well, he must be lyin' then.
yowann is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2014, 12:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
hubsabubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, GA
Gender: Male
Posts: 255
 
Device(s): Huawei Ascend II, LG Optimus M, Coolpad Quattro, LG Optimus F6
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 28
Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
Default

regular micro usb keyboards will not work with the phone either. I have tried 3 different ones now and no luck. Also what exactly does that SS show? IT doesn't show any addition to your internal storage, just external. Mine shows 12.5gbs on internal and 1.2gbs on external.
hubsabubs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2014, 08:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 13
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh well, it's not a big deal for me. I was just wanting to use my phone as a USB host with my Arduino, but I can get a USB host shield for that and use the ADK.
yowann is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

LG Optimus F6
Current Rating:
Rate this Phone:




Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > LG Optimus F6
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.