Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > LG Optimus F6

test: Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old December 5th, 2013, 02:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Is USB Mass Storage Available rather than MTP

So I went into T-Mobile to transfer over my AT&T Atrix 2 phone and the guy snapped off the sim contacts trying to install a SIM adapter. They ended up giving me a new LG Optimus F6.

On my old Atrix2 I have the following three USB options: Mass Storage, MTP and PTP

On the F6 I have 4 options; Charge Only, MTP, LG Software and PTP

Is there any way to get the equivalent of the Atrix2 Mass Storage, which worked always.

On the F6 I've tried the "LG Software" and "MTP". Right now it's setup as MTP. Every time I connect the phone to my Windows 7 (x86_64) machine the phone displays a USB status of "Connected as an installer", Windows opens a window to the autorun folder on the phone. Either it sits there for 30 seconds or I have to manually click on the drive letter at which point the phone switches to "Media Sync (MTP)".

This is kind of annoying plus there is another problem, I can drag and drop files from the desktop to the phone via MTP but certain apps cannot save directly to the phone, error out. Also I get errors (device stopped responding) if I try to copy large amounts of files (music) over MTP to the phone.

Advertisements
crazybrit is offline  
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old December 5th, 2013, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
AF Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fayetteville, NC, USA
Gender: Male
Posts: 10,401
 
Device(s): Note3 running X-Note 4.3 in Safestrap Stock slot.
Carrier: AT&T

Thanks: 16
Thanked 2,880 Times in 2,640 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazybrit View Post
On the F6 I've tried the "LG Software" and "MTP". Right now it's setup as MTP. Every time I connect the phone to my Windows 7 (x86_64) machine the phone displays a USB status of "Connected as an installer", Windows opens a window to the autorun folder on the phone. Either it sits there for 30 seconds or I have to manually click on the drive letter at which point the phone switches to "Media Sync (MTP)".
Microsoft decision, and a bad one IMO. There should be an "always do this" type of checkbox on the autorun menu. Check that before clicking on the phone's drive.

Quote:
Also I get errors (device stopped responding) if I try to copy large amounts of files (music) over MTP to the phone.
Don't quote me on this one because I haven't analyzed Microsoft's USB firmware, but from similar situations and tests I've run, I'd say that's a failing of Windows. I've had it happen transferring files to/from a phone, an SD card, an external drive and a network, all via USB. Not too much in common there, except Windows and USB, so ...
Rukbat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2013, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rukbat View Post
Microsoft decision, and a bad one IMO. There should be an "always do this" type of checkbox on the autorun menu. Check that before clicking on the phone's drive.
There is but this has no effect on the fact that the phone always displays "Connected as an installer".

It always cycles through this first. The phone is first mapped to "CD Drive (H) LGE Mobile". You change the auto play so that it opens that folder but all this contains is the autorun files.

Either once this times out or once you click on the "CD Drive (H) LGE Mobile" entry in the "Computer" view, H is unmounted and a "Portable Device" LG-D500 appears and the phone switches from "Connected as an installer" to "Media Sync (MTP)"

Basically I'd like to bypass the stupid installer step.
crazybrit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2014, 01:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
 
Device(s): LG Esteem MS910, LG Optimus F6 MS500
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It will connect as installer always first to check your drivers. If you don't have "ask on connection" checked in your settings, it will remain in installer mode til you click on mtp, lg, or ptp after you plug in the usb. Still doesn't work, delete the drivers from windows and install fresh from lg. Still doesn't work, root the b#@ch and tell it what to do.

Sorry, didn't realize the date of submission.
billigerent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2014, 10:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Alton, IL
Posts: 95
 
Device(s): Samsung Galaxy Victory LTE
Carrier: Virgin Mobile

Thanks: 12
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rukbat View Post
Microsoft decision, and a bad one IMO. There should be an "always do this" type of checkbox on the autorun menu. Check that before clicking on the phone's drive.

Don't quote me on this one because I haven't analyzed Microsoft's USB firmware, but from similar situations and tests I've run, I'd say that's a failing of Windows. I've had it happen transferring files to/from a phone, an SD card, an external drive and a network, all via USB. Not too much in common there, except Windows and USB, so ...
Microsoft didn't remove the USB mass storage option from Android. My phone used to be able to be recognized by all computers and stereos. Now it is recognized by about 5% of them. It that Android's version of progress?
mscheaf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2014, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
hubsabubs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, GA
Gender: Male
Posts: 255
 
Device(s): Huawei Ascend II, LG Optimus M, Coolpad Quattro, LG Optimus F6
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 28
Thanked 61 Times in 49 Posts
Default

From what I've read these are issues with Android 4.1-4.3 . Android 4.4 doesn't do this. My Android 4.2 tablet uses MTP, my wife's tablet that she just got has 4.4 and it mounts as mass storage. It's the way the system was written to read, write and manage storage.
hubsabubs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2014, 03:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 29
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 14
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hubsabubs View Post
From what I've read these are issues with Android 4.1-4.3 . Android 4.4 doesn't do this. My Android 4.2 tablet uses MTP, my wife's tablet that she just got has 4.4 and it mounts as mass storage. It's the way the system was written to read, write and manage storage.
LOL it's device manufacturer's policy not the android! if LG makes a phone w/out mass storage function, I doubt it will suddenly appear after applying KK update...

EDIT: updated my SGE2 from 4.2.2 to 4.4.2, NO MASS STORAGE FUNCTION appeared!
for samsung phones there are app on gplay to use phone as mass storage. however it's so f**kin' buggy that's almost screwed up my phone (not completely of course, but i needed to reset phone then!!)
spicaalex is offline  
Last edited by spicaalex; September 2nd, 2014 at 09:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

LG Optimus F6
Current Rating:
Rate this Phone:




Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > LG Optimus F6

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.