Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > LG Optimus F6

Get excited for the Samsung Galaxy S5! Find everything you need and discuss it in our Galaxy S5 Forum!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Mega Optimus

test: Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old January 28th, 2014, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 72
 
Device(s): Lg Optimus M Lg Optimus F6
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Mobile Hotspot for F6

Hello there, first off just got the F6 and wow! amazing phone, I'm so happy, and only $79.

Now my question is how do I get mobile hotspot to work. And is there a way to do it free. Will I need root? I seem to recall on a motion 4g you could do it while bypassing the metro block on it. I don't know if you needed root. If you do and you can I'm rooting immediately!

__________________
Miguel Aleksich Is The Name, Ask Me Again And I'll Tell You The Same
Mega Optimus is online now  
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old January 28th, 2014, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Trevor Philips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sandy Shores
Posts: 231
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 51
Thanked 69 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mega Optimus View Post
Hello there, first off just got the F6 and wow! amazing phone, I'm so happy, and only $79.

Now my question is how do I get mobile hotspot to work. And is there a way to do it free. Will I need root? I seem to recall on a motion 4g you could do it while bypassing the metro block on it. I don't know if you needed root. If you do and you can I'm rooting immediately!
http://androidforums.com/metropcs-optimus-f6-all-things-root/809329-found-tethering-mpcs-f6-video-uploaded.html

You will need root, heres a simple guide
http://androidforums.com/metropcs-optimus-f6-all-things-root/823131-guide-rooting-f6.html
Trevor Philips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2014, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 72
 
Device(s): Lg Optimus M Lg Optimus F6
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Great thanks!
Trevor Philips likes this.
Mega Optimus is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2014, 08:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Gender: Female
Posts: 12
 
Device(s): LG optimus f6 Metro PCS
Carrier: Metro PCS

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried this but when I ran the root check it said it wasn't rooted any others
thickirish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2014, 09:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 36
 
Device(s): MetroPCS LG F6
Carrier: T-Mobile

Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I used saferoot ( [ROOT] Saferoot: Root for VRUEMJ7, MK2, and Android 4.3 - xda-developers )
screenname is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2014, 12:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Gender: Female
Posts: 12
 
Device(s): LG optimus f6 Metro PCS
Carrier: Metro PCS

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by screenname View Post
Mine is android 4.1.2 will this still work on my phone
thickirish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2014, 01:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Gender: Female
Posts: 12
 
Device(s): LG optimus f6 Metro PCS
Carrier: Metro PCS

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thickirish View Post
Mine is android 4.1.2 will this still work on my phone
I went to safe root from link above but you need a pc i don't have one
thickirish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2014, 10:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 40
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Google vroot, press green button, install vroot, install an app freezer (titanium backup pro preferably) , install supersu, when it prompts you to change binary and unintall other superuser apps back out.Then freeze vroot. Return to supersu and update binary and using Normal method. Your done.
sir0knightfall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2014, 12:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Gender: Female
Posts: 12
 
Device(s): LG optimus f6 Metro PCS
Carrier: Metro PCS

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sir0knightfall View Post
Google vroot, press green button, install vroot, install an app freezer (titanium backup pro preferably) , install supersu, when it prompts you to change binary and unintall other superuser apps back out.Then freeze vroot. Return to supersu and update binary and using Normal method. Your done.
Could you explain changing the binary I'm so new to all of this trying to learn as much as I can before i actually root my phone
thickirish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2014, 09:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
ayi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 51
 
Device(s): LG G2 (Verizon) - LG F6 (MetroPCS)
Carrier: T-Mobile 25$ - Family Plan

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mega Optimus View Post
Hello there, first off just got the F6 and wow! amazing phone, I'm so happy, and only $79.

Now my question is how do I get mobile hotspot to work. And is there a way to do it free. Will I need root? I seem to recall on a motion 4g you could do it while bypassing the metro block on it. I don't know if you needed root. If you do and you can I'm rooting immediately!
Just my experience with this, my G2 is in the shop and I couldn't bare using a windows phone. I decided to buy a F6. Tmobile charge way too much and I saw at metro for 79$. I brought the device online for 99$ at metro and I didn't' quality for that 20$ rebate.

Long story short got it yesterday brought a 0.99$ unlock on ebay and got it working on tmobile. and I can mobile hotspot share my 4G LTE just fine.

Today my internet went down and it's been tethering 4G LTE about ~33Mbps down . I didn't have to root or anything yet just unlocking the device with the code.

i.e. this is a METROPCS phone unlocked and used on tmobile and no issue with mobile hotspot share, and stock mobile share app worked flawlessly.
ayi is offline  
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old March 1st, 2014, 10:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
Trevor Philips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sandy Shores
Posts: 231
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 51
Thanked 69 Times in 37 Posts
Default

I have a question, if i were to pay for tethering, will i be able to use the internet freely without needing a useragent etc..? Will i be able to tether to my gaming console and stream netflix and all that good stuff?
Trevor Philips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

LG Optimus F6
Current Rating:
Rate this Phone:




Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > LG Optimus F6
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.