Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > LG Optimus F3 > (MetroPCS & T-Mobile) Optimus F3 - All Things Root

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By elgecko

test: Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old August 10th, 2013, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Senior Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 609
 
Device(s): LG Optimus M, Optimus M +, Motion 4G (all retired), LG Optimus F3, Galaxy Tab 2-7. All rooted.
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 7
Thanked 144 Times in 118 Posts
Default Motochopper works

Well I'll make the first post in here to confirm that Motochopper works on the Metro variant of this phone as well as the others. I rooted mine in about 30 seconds, fastest and smoothest device root I've done so far.

Advertisements
Fox Mulder is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fox Mulder For This Useful Post:
Lito007 (September 13th, 2013)
sponsored links
Old August 12th, 2013, 10:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My F3 is now rooted! works like charm, thanks
gojoecho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2013, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 513
 
Device(s): Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Carrier: metroPCS

Thanks: 46
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Can someone provide a step by step on how to root this phone?i want to remove the metro bloatware..
Joshuah22a is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2013, 04:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 609
 
Device(s): LG Optimus M, Optimus M +, Motion 4G (all retired), LG Optimus F3, Galaxy Tab 2-7. All rooted.
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 7
Thanked 144 Times in 118 Posts
Default

Just google for motochopper, it's readily available for download in several places along with tutorials and very easy to use. Just be sure you have the latest LG driver for your phone before proceeding, you can get it from the LG website.
Also be cautious about actually deleting system apps, doing so can sometimes cause problems or even brick the phone. Apps which are safe to remove will have an uninstall option in the app manager, for those that don't you can just disable them. Some of the built-in apps have a disable option in the app manager which you can use even without root. Those that don't have the option can be frozen with Titanium Backup after rooting.
Fox Mulder is offline  
Last edited by Fox Mulder; August 13th, 2013 at 04:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2013, 02:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 513
 
Device(s): Samsung Galaxy Note 3
Carrier: metroPCS

Thanks: 46
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

that's normally what I do..i just gain root and freeze all the metro apps with TB! Thank you Fox!
Joshuah22a is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2013, 12:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 113
 
Device(s): Nexus 7(new & old), LG Optimus F3, Nook Color
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

After reading this thread and seeing that root was readily available for this phone I picked one up last night to replace my venerable Esteem, which had been a very good phone but was showing it's age - I was tired of the lack of power and restrictions of 2.3.4

This is my first time using link2sd, had used app2sd before but the Esteem had much more internal storage than this. Are there some obvious system apps that it is ok to delete to clear up space? Some that you can't touch? For instance LG keyboard is the largest system app but I never use it, swiftkey all the way.

Just trying to get some ideas to clear up as much room as possible on the internal storage without blowing stuff up.
thecdn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2013, 02:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 609
 
Device(s): LG Optimus M, Optimus M +, Motion 4G (all retired), LG Optimus F3, Galaxy Tab 2-7. All rooted.
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 7
Thanked 144 Times in 118 Posts
Default

Although it may be tempting to delete system apps that take a lot of space, I'd recommend leaving them alone and just freezing them. Removing them completely can cause serious problems as I already mentioned. If you choose to experiment with deleting them you should back them up with Titanium Backup first so you can put them back if needed.
Also with regard to Titanium Backup, it's important to note that its default backup location is on the internal storage (sd0) and not the external SD card. So once you're rooted and looking to conserve space, you should create a Titanium Backup folder on the external SD and change the backup location to that folder.
Fox Mulder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2013, 05:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 113
 
Device(s): Nexus 7(new & old), LG Optimus F3, Nook Color
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox Mulder View Post
If you choose to experiment with deleting them you should back them up with Titanium Backup first so you can put them back if needed.
I'll go that route.

Quote:
Also with regard to Titanium Backup, it's important to note that its default backup location is on the internal storage (sd0) and not the external SD card.
I put the sd card from my Esteem in this one and TB recognized the backup on the card. Was able to restore the data from a couple of games.
thecdn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2013, 06:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 609
 
Device(s): LG Optimus M, Optimus M +, Motion 4G (all retired), LG Optimus F3, Galaxy Tab 2-7. All rooted.
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 7
Thanked 144 Times in 118 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecdn View Post
I'll go that route.



I put the sd card from my Esteem in this one and TB recognized the backup on the card. Was able to restore the data from a couple of games.
Yes it will recognize the backup files, but when making new backups from the phone it's installed on it will use a folder on the internal SD storage unless you specify a new folder in a different location.
Fox Mulder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2013, 09:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
elgecko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 319
 
Device(s): Samsung Galaxy S3 - Rooted - Stock /// Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 - [JB][4.2.2] CM 10.1
Carrier: Virgin Mobile

Thanks: 41
Thanked 93 Times in 60 Posts
Default

I have the VM of this phone.
Also remember removing system apps will not gain you any more space for your user installed apps. They are installed in a different location.... unless you are moving them to the system by TiB, and that's scary as all get out.
With no custom recovery your just asking for a brick.
Shabbypenguin likes this.
__________________
Blue Marble Theme for OE

Gecko Theme for OE
elgecko is offline  
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old August 20th, 2013, 10:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,088
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 15
Thanked 162 Times in 142 Posts
Default

+ 1 for freezing apps, you never know what can brick your phone, or even soft brick
unnamedny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2013, 07:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,088
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 15
Thanked 162 Times in 142 Posts
Default

root it as well yesterday. Love the phone, I don't play games on mine so storage it has is enough for me. Other than that, what a beautiful phone.
unnamedny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2013, 05:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 4
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is it safe to remove all the metropcs bloatware?
Pierina12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2013, 06:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F3
Carrier: Virgin Mobile

Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I have the Virgin Mobile version of this phone and after I used Motochopper my Superuser can't gain root access. Any suggestions?
SodaYodaDude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2013, 03:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ive downloaded motochopper and the lg driver 3.10.1. Followed all instructions on *******. But it tells me "abd is not recognizedas internal or external command, operable program or batch file". Please help.
lazy89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2013, 04:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 609
 
Device(s): LG Optimus M, Optimus M +, Motion 4G (all retired), LG Optimus F3, Galaxy Tab 2-7. All rooted.
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 7
Thanked 144 Times in 118 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazy89 View Post
Ive downloaded motochopper and the lg driver 3.10.1. Followed all instructions on *******. But it tells me "abd is not recognizedas internal or external command, operable program or batch file". Please help.
Are you trying to run Motochopper from the zipped folder you downloaded? If so that doesn't work, you have to extract the files first then run them.
Fox Mulder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2013, 04:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazy89 View Post
Ive downloaded motochopper and the lg driver 3.10.1. Followed all instructions on *******. But it tells me "abd is not recognizedas internal or external command, operable program or batch file". Please help.
Nevermind. I was running it straight from winrar instead of the extracted motochopper folder.
lazy89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2013, 05:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox Mulder View Post
Just google for motochopper, it's readily available for download in several places along with tutorials and very easy to use. Just be sure you have the latest LG driver for your phone before proceeding, you can get it from the LG website.
Also be cautious about actually deleting system apps, doing so can sometimes cause problems or even brick the phone. Apps which are safe to remove will have an uninstall option in the app manager, for those that don't you can just disable them. Some of the built-in apps have a disable option in the app manager which you can use even without root. Those that don't have the option can be frozen with Titanium Backup after rooting.
What version of titanium backup did u download?
lazy89 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2013, 06:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
Senior Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 609
 
Device(s): LG Optimus M, Optimus M +, Motion 4G (all retired), LG Optimus F3, Galaxy Tab 2-7. All rooted.
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 7
Thanked 144 Times in 118 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazy89 View Post
Nevermind. I was running it straight from winrar instead of the extracted motochopper folder.
Looks like I was right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazy89 View Post
What version of titanium backup did u download?
Whatever the latest version was from the Play store, and I keep it updated. I have the Pro version.
Fox Mulder is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fox Mulder For This Useful Post:
lazy89 (September 4th, 2013)
Old September 10th, 2013, 11:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just upgraded from the motion today after the screen shattered. Thanks for the root info, took 5mins
ratsflif is offline  
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old September 23rd, 2013, 07:03 AM   #21 (permalink)
Member
 
0utSid3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greenville, TX.
Gender: Male
Posts: 189
 
Device(s): LG Motion 4g, Nexus 4
Carrier: MetroPCS

Thanks: 94
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Heres a good walk through.

http://youtu.be/IE2oxt1xlrE
0utSid3r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 08:25 PM   #22 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 362
 
Device(s): LG Connect 4G (Retired), Samsung Freeform III (retired), Asus Nexus 7, LG Optimus F3
Carrier: T-Metro USA

Thanks: 12
Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts
Default

Rooting on mac:
1. download motochopper zip
2 open terminal
3. enter the file location example ( cd desktop/motochopper/ )
then type ( chmod 755 * )
then type ( sh run.sh )

4. follow instructions and you have root!
5. Use root checker to verify.
__________________
Come share your screenshots on simply-android.deviantart.com
jjrx3 is online now  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jjrx3 For This Useful Post:
jjfad (November 11th, 2013)
Old December 7th, 2013, 03:12 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 20
 
Device(s): Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini (ATT)- unlocked
Carrier: Consumer Cellular (ATT network)

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Used Motochopper to successfully root LG Optimus F3 (Virgin Mobile). No snags at all-- worked the first time. Used LG driver 3.10.1 on my Win 7 PC.
Steveww48 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2013, 10:58 AM   #24 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Whyzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,102
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6 (unlocked, rooted, & debloated)
Carrier: Lyca, Ptel, AirVoice

Thanks: 229
Thanked 959 Times in 321 Posts
Default

Apparently the new OTA update that came out the week around Dec. 10 2013 broke motochopper root? Can someone confirm? Someone else reported success using Cydia Impactor.
Whyzor is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Whyzor For This Useful Post:
rachid (December 23rd, 2013)
Old December 13th, 2013, 11:05 PM   #25 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WA
Gender: Female
Posts: 3
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F3
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default OTA Update 10c

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whyzor View Post
Apparently the new OTA update that came out the week around Dec. 10 2013 broke motochopper root? Can someone confirm?
Well, I can confirm that I updated before I tried Motochopper and it won't work. Fails every time. I guess I'll be looking for another method. I knew updating was a bad idea.
crystal_lattice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2013, 11:31 PM   #26 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Whyzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,102
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6 (unlocked, rooted, & debloated)
Carrier: Lyca, Ptel, AirVoice

Thanks: 229
Thanked 959 Times in 321 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crystal_lattice View Post
Well, I can confirm that I updated before I tried Motochopper and it won't work. Fails every time. I guess I'll be looking for another method. I knew updating was a bad idea.
In the other thread people are reporting Cydia Impactor and Kingo work to root after the OTA when Motochopper fails.
Whyzor is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Whyzor For This Useful Post:
crystal_lattice (December 27th, 2013)
Old December 14th, 2013, 06:46 PM   #27 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WA
Gender: Female
Posts: 3
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F3
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Kingo worked. Couldn't get Cydia Impactor to run, not sure why. Thanks!
crystal_lattice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2013, 01:01 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 36
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F3
Carrier: t-mobile

Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crystal_lattice View Post
Kingo worked. Couldn't get Cydia Impactor to run, not sure why. Thanks!
Kingo is suspected to be malware. PSA: Kingo and vRoot determined to be malware [UPDATE 8 DEC] - xda-developers
dschach is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2013, 04:00 PM   #29 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Whyzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,102
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F6 (unlocked, rooted, & debloated)
Carrier: Lyca, Ptel, AirVoice

Thanks: 229
Thanked 959 Times in 321 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dschach View Post
If you read a bit further into that thread, you'll see Kingo's explanation of what the behavior was in an older version, anyway latest one doesn't collect IMEI info anymore.

xda-developers - View Single Post - PSA: Kingo and vRoot determined to be malware [UPDATE 8 DEC]
Whyzor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2013, 11:02 AM   #30 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

On MetroPCS. Rooted using motochopper on OSX 10.8.4. Installed OTA update to MS65910b last week. still rooted. no noticeable difference. Woke up this morning to another update alert. am waiting to see how it works out for others.

new update: LG Help: Product Support and Troubleshooting | LG USA
santacruzskim is offline  
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old December 27th, 2013, 08:27 PM   #31 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WA
Gender: Female
Posts: 3
 
Device(s): LG Optimus F3
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's MS65910c that there's an issue with. With c I had to use Kingo, which worked in a few seconds.
crystal_lattice is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2013, 06:17 PM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 21
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Motochopper didn't work for me. Link2SD gives me the emulated external drive issue which is clearly not true. I do have superuser but Link2SD doesn't work and now I'm stuck with a crappy root. How can I go back to the stock ROM without erasing my contacts and messages.

If that's not possible, what can I use to backup my contacts and messages?
afroag is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2014, 02:21 PM   #33 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by afroag View Post
Motochopper didn't work for me. Link2SD gives me the emulated external drive issue which is clearly not true. I do have superuser but Link2SD doesn't work and now I'm stuck with a crappy root. How can I go back to the stock ROM without erasing my contacts and messages.

If that's not possible, what can I use to backup my contacts and messages?
There's quite a few SMS/contact apps on Play store. I like Super Backup.
~a
leftysrevenge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > LG Optimus F3 > (MetroPCS & T-Mobile) Optimus F3 - All Things Root
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.