Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > Samsung Admire

Get excited for the Samsung Galaxy S5! Find everything you need and discuss it in our Galaxy S5 Forum!

test: Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old August 15th, 2012, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Admire WiFi Issue (no other thread fixed it)

I am trying to connect to a home network through wpa/wpa2 psk. I know I have the password right, and that the network is available.

When I connect, it says "Connecting... Authenticating... Disabled..." and it asks me for a PW again.

I am able to connect to other networks. I have not been able to find a fix for this besides people saying to Reboot the phone, and this does not work for me. Please, please, PLEASE help.

Thx

Spitlord is offline  
Reply With Quote
sponsored links
Old August 15th, 2012, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: In your TV...
Posts: 301
 
Device(s): Samsung Admire with one of the following: Admired Monster 5.3 Admiral Beast 1.0 AlienWareZ! Ver
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 104
Thanked 41 Times in 26 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to awesomeofsauce awesomeofsauce@gmail.com
Default

That happen to me too. Its not your phone, its your router (also called a gateway) you need to unplug it for 15 seconds, plug it back in, and see if that works. Depending on your router, doing that may reset it to factory settings. If it didn't work, try finding the reset button on the router and pressing it for 15 - 30 seconds or whenever the lights flash or go off. If that didn't work, try updating your firmware. Also check and make sure a laptop or gaming system can connect to your wifi... And make sure its not on ad-hoc network mode.

If none of that works, time to get a new router! Hope I helped!

Edit: make sure you press 'forget' on your phone to make it forget the password first!


Sent from my Samsung Admire Running OpenAndroid 2.3
awesomeofsauce is offline  
Last edited by awesomeofsauce; August 15th, 2012 at 02:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to awesomeofsauce For This Useful Post:
Spitlord (August 17th, 2012)
Old August 17th, 2012, 11:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Laptop connects, Ipod touch connects, other people's devices connect. If I reset the router am I risking anything?
Spitlord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2012, 08:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
enigmadroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. Pete Beach, FL
Posts: 348
 
Device(s): LG MS770
Carrier: MetroPOS

Thanks: 29
Thanked 83 Times in 56 Posts
Send a message via AIM to enigmadroid Send a message via Yahoo to enigmadroid
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitlord View Post
Laptop connects, Ipod touch connects, other people's devices connect. If I reset the router am I risking anything?
If you reset the router you'll only lose your password and any settings you may have set. What ROM are you running on your Admire? Does it connect to other wifi hotspots like coffee shop or Mickey D's? Have you tried toggling airplane mode, data, and wifi?
enigmadroid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2012, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am having a somewhat similar problem. The router is fine, all other devices connect and I have reset the phone and router just to be certain. The phone wouldn't even pick up calls when it was activated and I have to be within 20 feet of a wifi source just to get minimal signal.
smokescrack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2012, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
Thread Author (OP)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enigmadroid View Post
If you reset the router you'll only lose your password and any settings you may have set. What ROM are you running on your Admire? Does it connect to other wifi hotspots like coffee shop or Mickey D's? Have you tried toggling airplane mode, data, and wifi?
Yes, I have tried all of those. I connect fine at other hotspots. I was running SPBShell3d but I went back to the stock rom. Still nothing.
Spitlord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2012, 09:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
enigmadroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. Pete Beach, FL
Posts: 348
 
Device(s): LG MS770
Carrier: MetroPOS

Thanks: 29
Thanked 83 Times in 56 Posts
Send a message via AIM to enigmadroid Send a message via Yahoo to enigmadroid
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spitlord View Post
Yes, I have tried all of those. I connect fine at other hotspots. I was running SPBShell3d but I went back to the stock rom. Still nothing.
Check your router configuration and see how many clients are allowed. Most routers default is to hand out 50 internal IP's. Also check the channels and type, like a/b/g/n etc. What router do you have? Also make certain the security type, wpa-wpa2, aes, etc. is set on the phone. Hope this helps.
enigmadroid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2012, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
 
Device(s):
Carrier: Not Provided

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just bought this Admire, and although I have it on WIFI, and have a home router it doesn't pick up wifi AT all, not even hotspots...SOMEONE PLEASE help...it's driving me crazy.... it shouldn't be that hard.
Everything at my house connects, just not my phone...don't get it.....HELP!
fcm428 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Samsung Admire
Current Rating:
Rate this Phone:

The Samsung Admire is a mid-range smartphone running Android 2.3. The phone falls in line with simiar devices of its class and features an 800MHz CPU, 3.2MP camera, and Samsung's TouchWiz UI. Though the Admire calls the MetroPCS network its h... Read More



Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > Samsung Admire
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.