Go Back   Android Forums > Android Phones > Samsung Galaxy Note 2

test: Reply

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old December 15th, 2012, 04:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Thread Author (OP)

Device(s): Samsung Galaxy Note 2
Carrier: Three

Default GN2 making use of extn SD card

Hi there

I am a noob, and I recently paid 240 toward a GN2 handset on a good contract with 3 in the UK because I decided to jump from my vintage Nokia to the crest of the wave with a fantastic new mobile device. I spent a further 45 on a 64gb Class 10 SDXC card so that my fantastic new device has a fantastic 80gb of memory. You guessed it, I am disappointed to find that with Jelly Bean I cannot install or move apps to the external card. Having installed a few apps and a game I am already through 6gb of my 16gb onboard memory. I don't feel ready to root my phone as I don't really know anything about it - in terms of what's a safe reliable way to do it, the potential issues with breaking it, undoing any mistakes, voiding warranty, opening the door to malware, and so on.

So I was wondering, is there any way to make decent use of the ext SD card? For example, can you set the camera to save pix and video to the ext card by default? Or email / messaging to store messages on the ext card? Even if apps like games are installed on the main memory, can you make them store their data on the ext card? I've looked in App Manager and Storage but I can't see a way of doing this. Is there an app that helps you do this?

I realise I can move some files manually to the card but it's not a very efficient use of time. It just seems pretty crazy to me to have such a powerful device capable of so much and have a slot for a 64gb card available, and then not be able to use it in a meaningful way.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Advertisements
Last edited by slowmandroid; December 15th, 2012 at 04:51 AM.
sponsored links
Old December 15th, 2012, 04:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Often Off Piste