1.1GHz, JIT & CompCache ... can it get better? Umm, yes.


Last Updated:

  1. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    One thing some of you over-clockers may not be aware of is, the over-clocked kernel that you flashed to your DROID is based off of the 2.0 kernel. Some folks are reporting issues again that were present before the 2.0.1 update ... i.e. crackling audio, LED and keybd back-lighting dysfunction, etc... Actually, I have yet to experience any of these issues.

    This isn't bad news, mind you. Just a little something that we can look forward to as the new & improved kernels become available. I still have high hopes that the official 2.1 release is going to be a very optimized ROM/kernel for our beloved DROID. And when that kernel gets over-clocked . . . LOOK OUT!!! :eek: :cool: :)

    ----------------------

    UPDATE: I have since removed the CompCache from my DROID. I would get reboots when I tried calling anyone. Umm ... that's bad, right? LOL
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95
    Yeah, that was already pointed out somewhere else... I think in the thread about overclocking. I think it was right before I started taking crap over my choice of ROMs. lol.

    There are so many things I am looking forward to, and it sucks that there is nothing I can do to pitch in and help any of the devs out so we can get stuff faster.
     
  3. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    I get JIT, but what's compcache? Can't wait to root this weekend heh.
     
  4. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    It allows for expansion of ram space. But the verdict is still out from me. I'm seeing a little bit of wackiness that wasn't there before I enabled it. I might revert back and see what's up.
     
  5. GreedyBird

    GreedyBird Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    I actually noticed at 1G I have lost LED notifications, earlier when I had it 800 or maybe it was the 950 I think I had them.. going to flash to the other one to test
     
  6. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    128
    I'm at 950 and LED notifications work perfectly... Considering 1G.
     
  7. GreedyBird

    GreedyBird Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just switched back to 950 and I do get LED again!

    Is there a nice write up on what exactly JIT is and how to implement it?
     
  8. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603

    Cool -- thanks for the info and Good luck

    And keep us posted (like you could resist) ;)
     
  9. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    CompCache was messing with my phone. When I tried calling someone, the phone would reboot. :( It was also acting just kinda glitchy in general. So I reverted back to "just" 1.1 GHz with JIT enabled. Runnin sweet again.
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    I've had it running at 800, 900, 1G, and now 1.1G. No issues what-so-ever at any speed. Just lucky I guess.
     
  11. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    My LEDs are also working at 900/1000/1100. However, no matter what frequency, if I have JIT enabled, my browser does not like to ever finish "loading", even though the entire page is rendered, the bar at the top does not complete.

    I don't like that, not at all. So I'll just wait for 2.1 and JIT. I think it's better for 2.1 anyways, because 1GHz N1's can get 17 MFlops using cyanogen's JIT, while at stock they barely get 8. Even at 1GHz w/o JIT, the Droid gets like 8.5, so running the exact same software, we should be able to beat the N1...

    But idk. Besides benchmark numbers, I don't feel JIT made a difference in the UI or any other actions.

    We'll see as it matures.
     
  12. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    No problem here with either the stock or Dolphin browser.
     
  13. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    So, overclockers, how much faster does your phone actually run - real world? Does it feel like it's blazing compared to the stock speed? I finally rooted since 2.1 didn't come on the 22nd. Probably going the OC route next.
     
  14. ssantan2

    ssantan2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    20
    I am at 800 with the adamZ's smoked glass ROM. home screen transitions are noticably faster, along with app tray and notification animations. ap's opening and loading are also alot quicker and booting up is super fast
     
  15. ocman

    ocman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    I noticed a 5 second boot time improvement from 800 to 1000 and the same from 600 to 800.
     
  16. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    One thing you won't see me do is get into peeing contests just for the sake of having something newer or better than the next guy. When I speak highly of an app, or a ROM, or a mod, it is because I really think it is something that someone else should do or have.

    Having said that ... this over-clocked kernel is ROCKIN'!!! This thing is FLYING! My Sweeter Home theme is a pure joy to navigate. Apps open FAST! Scrolling is smoother everywhere. And pinch and zoom in either of my browsers finally feels PERFECT for the first time. Keep in mind I'm running at 1.1GHz. 800 good. 900, better. But the real show starts at 1GHz. :p

    How's that for a ringing endorsement? ;)
     
  17. ocman

    ocman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have to agree that apps really SNAP at 1Ghz or higher. They open so fast its like it pops lol.
     
  18. Legacystar

    Legacystar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    28
    im running the bugless beauty ROm and freakin loving the multitouch browser, not for the pinch zoom, but it's like having my 2/0 browser back before they broke it, scrolls aswome!!! anyways, how do i get JIT on this rom?
     
  19. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    For about the first time in weeks I'm stuck...I was going to flash the Tas 1.1mhz boot image, but the instructions don't work...

    I'm connected to my PC via USB, SD card not mounted, usb debugging enabled, etc.

    I boot into sprecovery (hold x and power button), that's fine.

    After I do that I run adb shell, that works fine.

    Next command is su - that doesn't work - su command results in not found error. Tried mounting system, data, and sdcard from sprecovery mount menu, but su still won't work.

    What's the trick?

    Thanks!

     
  20. aleksander

    aleksander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    2
    hey guys im trying to over clock my device but i ran into a bit of a hard-solid-brick-wall (if you catch my drift:eek:) anyway...i fiddled with my beloved device and i was able to get it back online and running...good thing i had nandroid backup lol

    anyway (sorry for the offtopic post) does any of you have a more comprehensive guide to overclock my droid? ...you know one that involves a heavy use of N00b style techniques... :D:cool:

    thnx...help's much appreciated.
     
  21. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    You need to give more info...are you rooted? What did you try/where did the problem occur?
     
  22. radikal

    radikal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    10

    what just got posted above you had most of what you need
     
  23. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    You don't need to type su, it is automatic in recovery. I had the same problem myself but I just said f it and went ahead with the flash_image and it worked fine.
     
  24. aleksander

    aleksander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    2

    ok so just like Redflea above i tried to flash Tasmanian_droid image into my local folder and everything went well but when i rebooted it seemed like i did something which caused my phone to loose service...rofl...

    so i started paniking..and then i thought about it carefully and tried my skillz lol and re-flashed the original image back into the same folder...long story short i got service back...went into nandroid and made a restore of the system i had b4 doing the first image flash...

    now im just stuck and fearful ill brik the phone again
     
  25. radikal

    radikal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    10
    well we all have nandroid backups, i have 1 of 2.0.1 and i could pass it your way if ya get probs... so no worries really. i know many more have dif backups as well :) i can't say i am worried to ruin it cause someone can help me bring it back, i've been lucky lately but overclocking on 2.1 is making me nervous, i mean i am, but i have been getting nervous lately haha. checking my benchmark a lot!
     

Share This Page

Loading...