1-Click Lag Fix from XDA


Last Updated:

  1. maerlim

    maerlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    121
    First, I'll let this screenshot speak for itself. I JUST took this screenshot.

    [​IMG]

    How'd I do it? Check out the article over at XDA. :)

    [UTIL] One Click Lag Fix - xda-developers

    You'll need root, Busybox, a Windows system with USB cable, and an iron stomach. :)

    (By the way, this was not my best run of Quadrant. The first time I ran it, I got a 2057. Unfortunately I didn't get a SS.)
     

    Advertisement
  2. jpeg42

    jpeg42 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Did you run the original NAND fix? Does it seem faster or at least the same?

    I need to back out of the NAND fix soon as my file size is pushing the upper limits.
     
  3. c2k

    c2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Holy crap, I just did this and got like 2093, I wonder if these scores are legitimate or similar to the false droid x scores... I notice an increase in performance but havent tested it enough to know if its much better than the other lag fix
     
  4. mttfrog13

    mttfrog13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    So we have to root, sideload, and then apply this fix? I'm thinking of trying this. There are one-click rooting programs so the only thing left is to enable sideloading to install busybox correct?

    Update: Found this in another thread. Darkeligos posted a link to a program that would enable easy sideloading. Wonder if we could use this so that we have a really simple, root, sideload busybox, and speed fix.

    http://forum.androidcentral.com/showthread.php?p=236589
     
  5. maerlim

    maerlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    121
    No, I did not perform any previously-released fixes as I am currently unwilling to alter my kernel or format my SD card. This method doesn't require either.
     
  6. maerlim

    maerlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    121
    The only reason you would need sideload enabled would be because busybox released an update that apparently does not include makefs, which is required for this. You may have to install a version of busybox that is not the most recent.
     
  7. maerlim

    maerlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    121
    My fastest run so far has been 2149. :)

    I've ran with this fix for a day now, and almost all lag is completely gone. It's a totally different phone when using the market and web especially.
     
  8. mttfrog13

    mttfrog13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    I just installed the all-in-one update.zip version that roots, installs busybox, and installs the lag fix. Got a quadrant score of 2261. I'll let you guys know more about how smooth the interface is after some testing.

    Update: Right off the bat, I'm noticing some animations/fading in the ui that I never noticed before. Everlands game is loading quicker, maybe half the time spent on the splash screens. Bank of America app is spending much less time loading. The downloads tab in the market loads almost instantly when it usually takes 10seconds to load all my programs. Note that I am killing processes to make sure they just aren't loading fast because they were already running.
     
  9. TBull74

    TBull74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just installed this and now NOVA no longer runs :-c anyone have a similar problem? Asphalt runs great but NOVA comes up error every time
     
  10. TBull74

    TBull74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    WHOA this messed up my phone. First a few apps wouldnt load and now it wont turn on.
     
  11. mttfrog13

    mttfrog13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    uh oh, i'm worried now. TBull, have u been able to get your phone working?
     
  12. marhodges

    marhodges Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    This may make me sound foolish, but this step:

    "Hold down Up+powerbutton+Menubutton for a couple of seconds until u see the galaxy logo "
    just loops the AT&T screen. The Galaxy log doesn't come up till i release them and then it boots as it normaly does.

    Please be kind if I'm being stupid and its something obvious.

    Thanks
     
  13. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    Where did you get it? Do you have the link
     
  14. maerlim

    maerlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    121
    TBull74, did you follow the procedure I linked or did you use the all-in-one update.zip somebody else in the thread talked about?
     
  15. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    I can follow either or, but I'm just wondering where is the all-in-one procedure thats available. If that's available it'll definitely reduce the time on getting mines set up when I get it....
     
  16. noc

    noc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldn't get the 1-click thing to work. It would run, and it never restarted my phone. Anyway, I used an alternative method found on that page by using the update.zip instead. It worked perfectly fine, and my quadrant score went from ~800 to 2177.

    I hope this is more than just a number. It kinda seems like my captivate runs a lot more smoothly, but it could be wishful thinking as somebody else said. That said, I don't think I really experienced slow lag issues before... I always thought my captivate was snappy fast to begin with. Anyways, cheers and thanks for this stuff!
     
  17. TBull74

    TBull74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    No i followed the instructions to a T and about an hour later i couldn't open any apps and it wouldn't turn on so i had to reset from a boot menu. Made a huge mess for me. I read that turning your phone off using this is like ripping out the power cord on a computer and when i rebooted it corrupted my data. Seeing how it worked after i reset the user data i believe this.
     
  18. TBull74

    TBull74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    and it was the one click not the update.zip
     
  19. mttfrog13

    mttfrog13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    64
    well this marks the beginning and end of my rooting/modding experience. I un did the lag fix and root and my wifi stopped working. I retarted my router and phone multiple time. My phone also wouldn't work on wifi at work so I knew it had to be my phone. I did a hardware reset on my phone 4 times maybe and still couldn't get back on wifi. It would just get stuck at obtaining ip address. Thankfully there is a one click flash back to stock rom on the xda forums that helped me. Finally back on wifi.
     
  20. noc

    noc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: I let my phone idle all night. I went to sleep for 10 hours (I know, I'm a pig) and my battery went from 98% to 90%. It's about the same idling as it was before....
    ...however, when I did wake up, I was sending text messages for about 30 minutes. My battery life dropped to 82%. I don't think my battery life has ever dropped so quickly.

    Anyone else experiencing quicker battery drain after using this fix?
     
  21. dantheman2

    dantheman2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wow, this works for me. No problems with wifi or starting apps. Rebooted twice to make sure it doesn't go crazy. My benchmark was 2276 the second time.

    It made lots of apps that used to load slowly load lightning fast. I used the original attached zip file in that thread, not the update.zip or any other process.
     
  22. maerlim

    maerlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    121
    No. Seriously, all this does is create a 1gb file on your internal SD card, turn it into a virtual filesystem, format the filesystem as ext2, copy your app data to that filesystem, then mount it as your app data. That's all it does. It mounts a directory as a different virtual filesystem. It significantly improves I/O. It can't POSSIBLY have ANY affect on battery.
     
  23. dantheman2

    dantheman2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    5
    Many apps are running much faster after applying this. The market app is a good example. Usually, I would sit there and wait several seconds (maybe 20) for the market to load the list of apps available like the top free or what's downloaded on the phone, etc. Now, it seems like it is already loaded about 1 second after I press a button. It seems like cached data (maybe it is), hard to believe the improvement.

    The quadrant score needs to show the individual items as the results are for "overall" performance. I think the I/O performance goes through the roof after the fix. Probably all the other tests stay the same (cpu, graphics etc.).
     
  24. MilenkosMagic

    MilenkosMagic Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can anyone confirm this works on the Incredible. I am very anxious to give this a try.

    Using :2.2 Froyo leak, Unrevoked forever and 1.18 version of Busy Box.
     
  25. tylerva5

    tylerva5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just did this and the fastest run I've gotten is 2280. This feels like a whole new phone. I really notice it on the apps that used to take a few seconds when loading data, like the marketplace or a web page that isn't a mobile site.

    But I think I might have a problem. I used the update.zip method and reinstalled packages and everything went smoothly. However when I opened MCR Scripts I first clicked on LagFix1024.sh file and it started working and after a bunch of white lettering it automatically restarted my phone. When It fininshed starting up i opened quadrant and only scored an 860. So it obviously didn't work. I then clicked the RemoveFix.sh file in MCR scripts to remove the file that i thought i had just downloaded and it said i was denied. So I clicked the LagFix512.sh file and it started downloading that file and after a bunch of white writing it told me that it was complete. I exited MCR Scripts and opened quadrant and scored over 2000!

    However here is my problem/concern. I later in the day had to shut off my phone for work and when i restarted it i realized that the boot/startup logos after the AT&T logo are gone. All i see is the att boot screen and then it goes black for a few seconds while the sound of the 3g screen and the Galaxy s screen play in the backround. Then it boots up normally.
    So for those of you that used the update.zip method my question for you is do you still have all of your boot screens and is it normal for mine to be gone? If this shouldn't be happening is there anyway to fix this? Thanks in advance for the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...