1 Day with my Droid - 1st Impressions and ?'s

Last Updated:

1. s1njin

s1njin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Okay, I thought I'd post some impressions and questions. Some background - I'm a IT Manager by trade so I think its safe to say I 'get' technology. This is also my first smartphone that is not corporate issued (Blackberry). My only other experience of with a device of similar vain would be the iPod Touch I sold to fund my Droid purchase.

Observations:

1. I'm not sure why some are complaining about the speed of this unit - its plenty fast enough stock for my needs. The screen scrolling is not butter smooth like my iPod Touch was, but I'm okay with it. Its not like I'm waiting for it to do anything I'm asking it to.

2. You definitely have to 'Futz' with this. Anybody with a Windows or Linux background can understand what I mean (well, probably understands) - I'd imagine Mac users would be frustrated with this. Definitely not 'turn key' as I have found myself researching little bits here and there. Why did my Gmail stop autosyncing / clear out the data to fix it? Why was it so easy to link my phone to google voice and voicemail, but sorta hard to take the voicemail part away?

3. Once things start working - its one powerful device. I love making my own ring tones. I love having a GPS Nav w/ updated maps whenever I want it. The Apps I used on my Touch are avail for Droid. I still can't get over how I spoke the name of a store and the city it was in and how my Droid understood it and mapped me a route. Unbelievable.

4. DoubleTwist, Salling Media Sync - bah. Media Sync wants me to pay - DoubleTwist DOUBLED up my songs. I spent 20 minutes manually deleting the duplicates in the DoubleTwist application.

5. I paid to have my DRM music stripped via iTunes Plus. I don't think I'm going to buy music from iTunes anymore - Amazon mp3s will work just fine. I might use iTunes to FIND music, but I'm thinking I'll buy them from Amazon.