10-12 Satellites in View, 0 in use?Support


Last Updated:

  1. qwertyaas

    qwertyaas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    20
    Just exchanged my Captivate again (3rd one in 2 days) after my perfectly working Captivate (GPS too...) was bricked by the update. The first two wouldn't even find a satellite.

    Now, this one finds 10-12 satellites but won't lock onto a single satellite. I tried both the spirent-lcs.com and supl.google.com settings. Just nothing locks on... I tried both on GPS Test and the Lbstestmode Performance Test.

    Right now it shows 13 Satellites in view - with a dBHz ranging from 42.0 to 12.0.

    I know people have trouble finding satellites, but this thing is finding so many, just won't use any of them...

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    U have: use wireless networks & use gps satellites checked in the location & security settings?
     
  3. qwertyaas

    qwertyaas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    20
    Just GPS satellites. Wireless just gives me a location somewhat close to me with a 300 meter accuracy.

    On my first Captivate, I had only GPS checked and it located me within seconds. This one sees the satellites but just refuses to use them. No idea what the issue is with it.
     
  4. DynaBlue

    DynaBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    3
    Before work today I spent 14 minutes 35 seconds outside, in a parking lot, open/clear sky just to see how long it would really take to locate my position. GPS location setting checked, aGPS setting unchecked. Used GPS Test program and phone had just been restarted. The phone was hand held most of the time, top of the phone not covered by my hand. I did put it down for a couple minutes and had it leaning up against a wooden umbrella stand on a picnic table next to the parking lot.

    <1 minute: 2 sats found, 0 in use.
    1-2 minutes: up to 6 sats found, 0 in use.
    3-4 minutes: up to 10 sats found, 0 in use.
    5-10 minutes: all but one sat lost, 0 in use.
    11-12 minutes: 8 sats found, 3 in use for approx 1 second, UTC time loaded.
    13 minutes: 8-10 sats found, 3 in use for approx 1 second, then 0 in use.
    14 minutes: 10-11 sats found, 4-8 in use, accuracy 80 something ft (I think, forgot to write it down but nearly 100ft).
    14m35s: 10-11 sats found, 4-8 in use, accuracy 32 ft.
    15 minutes: Hurry to work so not to be late.

    I don't know, I'd call these results unsatisfactory. To be fair though this is THE worst GPS experience I've had with the phone. Normally <8 minutes to lock and track @16 ft (which still ain't great....)

    Question I'm wrestling with: "Is that something that is worth exchanging the phone over?" I do use GPS for things, not every day but the phone seems to be highly GPS-centric with many of its apps so this is probably a more important issue than it was on any of my prior phones.
     
  5. yahoowizard

    yahoowizard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    11
    That's the software issue. It needs to learn to use the lack of satellites.
     
  6. qwertyaas

    qwertyaas Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    20
    Sadly my 30 days is up this week. An AT&T Rep said they will try to extend it for me and I'm hoping they will because I really want to keep the phone. But if not, I'm hoping it will be fixed soon. Some say Samsung stating the real GPS Fix end of Sept. Samsung Rep told me yesterday end of October.
     

Share This Page

Loading...