12 key input mode gone?Support


Last Updated:

  1. MichaelW

    MichaelW Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    26
    Hi, just got my Galaxy which came with firmware II4. I thought I may as well update to the latest (II5) before I started using it properly, which I've done, but it now seems to be missing the option to set the input to "12 key" mode.

    Is there some way to enable this, or is it possible to go back to II4?
     

    Advertisement
  2. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    What do you mean by 12-key mode?

    I only have a qwerty virtual keyboard (plus a Scandinavian variant that I got from the Market) which is available for all apps; and the dial pad which is only available in the dialer (just like the calculator, it's really app ui buttons rather than a keyboard per se).

    If you mean a classic phone-style keypad which you can use T9 on, I guess that's only available as separate variants (analogous to my Scandinavian above).
     
  3. MichaelW

    MichaelW Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yes I mean classic phone-style keypad. Before I got it I could set "12 key" mode for input when holding the phone upright and still got the QWERTY layout when holding it sideways.

    So this would be a UK specific thing then? I believe the firmware I applied was the german one but I removed the cache file (CSC) thing. Is there a UK specific version of this file which would enable that again?
     
  4. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Nope not as yet. There aren't any O2 uk firmware files available. As soon as they release one we can extract the CSC. You're only other option is to ask someone with an O2 phone to root, wipe, and make a nandroid backup - which would be a clean backup of the filesystem. You could then apply this to your phone.

    Would be nice to have if someone feels like doing it?
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    thats odd, on any versions of this phone i couldnt do that unless i had installed a 3rd party kb app like the htc or better keyboard
     
  6. pegasus21

    pegasus21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Touchpal does that too and the beta is free on the market.
     

Share This Page

Loading...