128 MB Ram - really?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Mansn

    Mansn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been reading that the Samsung Galaxy has 128MB of ram according to GSM Arena. I have read some threads and some people have commented on the fact that Android alone requires this amount of memory to run. The HTC Hero for example has 288 MB of RAM. That's a whopping 160 MB difference right there. Will this dramatically impact the performance of the Samsung device, or do we just have to hope that the web is wrong and the Galaxy actually has way more memory?
     

    Advertisement
  2. dreamer81

    dreamer81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    i doubt you should expect more than the 128 mb of ram in the i7500. Then it will be in a modded version......

    this is also a major draw back for me!!
     
  3. Hilly

    Hilly Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'd like to know as well. I can't find any post release spec sheets that mention the RAM. However, there are other mistakes on some specs as well the Bluetooth spec is often wrong listed as 2.0 when according to Samsung it is 2.1
     
  4. JHan

    JHan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mhm, I've seen GSM and such report it as 128, but a number of the spec sheets don't have RAM listed at all. Also, if worse comes to worse, 8 gigs of RAM is enough to partition for some virtual memory and manage to offset that lowside RAM spec.
     
  5. Mansn

    Mansn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, but the "RAM" you are talking about is actually memory and a hell of a lot slower. RAM stands for Random Access Memory, you have it in your computer as well. And I don't know if you remember the good old days of Windows 98, but back then when you had 256 MB of RAM and that filled up and you started using the hard drive as a swap file (e.g. "extra RAM") you noticed it. I am pretty sure that the 8 GB memory modules in the Galaxy are not going to be high speed, as the faster they are, the more they cost.

    Again, the only real source I have found stating these 128 MB of RAM is GSM Arena, and I am just hoping that they are wrong.

    I think I am just going to have to wait to see an in store model and see how quickly it loads apps, surfs web pages and deals with multiple applications etc. What is the most memory intensive Android app out there to test?
     
  6. zenderady

    zenderady Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    from what I saw on the web the apps load preaty quickly.. and people say that on the g1 if you load a webbrowser and open a page, and then multitask and open the radio or another application, play a bit with that and turn back to the webbrowser, the internet page will have to reload as it wasn't enough ram to store it. That could be a test you could try
     
  7. JHan

    JHan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    My bad on that one, I got my vocabulary mixed up there. Yes, I meant that the flash memory can be partitioned, and although it is a lot slower than RAM, it does fill up the gap slightly. Also, after some snooping, I noticed that the iPhone 3G is running on 128 MB of RAM as well. My friend has a jail-broken iPhone 3G, so he gets to multi-task and do all of those memory intensive things the phone was never meant to do. Speed seems quite fine to me, more than acceptable for a portable device.
     
  8. zenderady

    zenderady Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. Mansn

    Mansn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, that's brilliant news. I was kind of guessing that the original article was a typo.
     
  10. legendary1022

    legendary1022 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    to me this is also huge news considering that not only does it improve performance but we have a slight chance of porting the HERO Rom onto this. The main problem is that XDA-Developers don't do anything other than HTC devices so it may be a while before someone successfully does it.

    I was really looking forward to the HTC Magic/mytouch 3g here in the US but now that its been confirmed to have the lesser RAM model, I've been praying that would actually go on the low end and give us a measly 128 mb RAM. I just really like what i see from the HERO rom and can't wait to get my hands on it. The Hero hardware just doesn't do it for me though.
     
  11. kappor

    kappor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Samsung Galaxy selling in Germany has only 192 MB RAM - the same as T-Mobile G1/HTC Dream
     
  12. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    HTC Hero reports the following with 'System Monitor':

    Memory Usage:
    Available Memory: 192mb
    Memory used: 117MB

    I thinkt he galaxy is the same.
     
  13. yglodt

    yglodt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    OSMonitor reports ~96MB on my Galaxy. The hero I of a colleague reports whopping ~192MB
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    mega bump lol?

    its 192 total mem on a galaxy not free mem
     
  15. yglodt

    yglodt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    thats after memory has been taken for the radio stack and graphics. if you search there forums theres a big thread about it and its provent without a shadow of a doubt that the phone has 192
     
  17. yglodt

    yglodt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe. But still on our galaxy, the apps (including the system-services like wpa-supplicant, dhcpd, etc), have only 96MB available... which is really a bit short.

    The hero (not sure) might have 288 in total, and has 196MB available for the android system (meminfo or osmonitor show that)
     
  18. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    yes thats right weve known this for a long time

    this post was about the physical memory was reported at 128 in total when infact its 192 and hero is 288
    the behold is an amazing 320
     

Share This Page

Loading...