14.4 Mbits! plus...a question


Last Updated:

  1. Drhyde

    Drhyde Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    89
    Now that my area has HSDPA, I did a speed test and pulled 14.4 Mbits. I thought the N1 could only do 7.2, but apparently I'm mistaken. A screenshot for any disbelievers. This was taken with a 2MB test. Higher MB tests slowed it some, but was still over 10 Mbits. Very awesome.

    insanespeed.jpg

    The only question I have is does anyone else's N1 switch back and forth between UTMS and HSDPA?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mingkee

    mingkee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    Mobilespeedtest.com isn't that reliable after all.
     
  3. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    try the speedtest app and pull results
     
  4. Drhyde

    Drhyde Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    89
    Gah! Only 1 MBit. Must have been a glitch :( Oh well... Still I can't figure out why I keep jumping back and forth between the two signals. Anyone got a clue?
     
  5. Teknologic

    Teknologic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    93
    HSDPA coverage might not be that great in your area so when the signal gets too weak your device might revert to UTMS connection.
     
  6. Drhyde

    Drhyde Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    89
    I also did a little reading that says it stays in UTMS mode until HSDPA is needed for data. Maybe a battery saving function of sorts.
     
  7. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    i noticed that too. Im in orlando an hspa+ deployed city and when i goto check it always says utms
     
  8. uoY_redruM

    uoY_redruM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    9
    Exactly the same here in Orlando (VCC East Area & Downtown Area).

    Switches when I'm browsing or using data.
     
  9. skytechnetwork.com

    skytechnetwork.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Testing with many service for internet speed test isn't real.
     
  10. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    here is what i got today via hotspot

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Teknologic

    Teknologic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    93
    Holy crabcakes, that just can't be accurate, can it? o_O
    My regular DSL speeds are 4Mbps and the highest speed I got out of 3G so far didn't even reach 1Mbps.

    I'm soooo jealous if you're downloading @ 17Mbps on a mobile network. Just seems so unreal to me.
     
  12. zillah

    zillah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Terrible ping though. I may just get 2ish Mbps at my place, but my ping can hit the high 60s. Latency I find is more important than speed on a mobile phone. I would like those speeds on my dedicated internet though.
    My ping is better on my phone than on my dedicated internet so I just use my phone for when I want to a play a little counterstrike. It's a shame t-mo doesn't have a front facing camera smartphone, yet.
     
  13. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    i know what you mean, but its enough for me to play 360 lag free and most other things without issue. its actually better than my dsl as well
     
  14. HTC

    HTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    7
    lol you have to use your phone to play games, then why not cancel your home service all together? i'm so glad i get fiOS here @home. 40mbps constant speeds.
     
  15. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    dont want to heavily rely on my phone. dont want to raise any alarms and rnd up being cut off
     
  16. Snazzy

    Snazzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    37
    A 2mb test is not accurate for these speeds. The test is over almost as soon is it has begun.

    To get any accurate result the test should run for at least 20 seconds.
     
  17. zillah

    zillah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Because its a difference between paying 30 to 40 dollars extra per month for an internet feature that I don't use frequently...
     

Share This Page

Loading...