160 Character Limit on Texts


Last Updated:

  1. ivanpk

    ivanpk Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    First Android phone and just switched to Verizon.
    I was sending a text and it was over 160 characters. I sent it and got a message saying that if I am texting a non Verizon customer they will only get the first 160 characters...
    WTF?! I've had an iPhone and a Blackberry on ATT and it would split the message up for me and send a couple if it was over 160. Is there no way to do this on the Droid? Do I seriously have to try and squeeze everything into 160 characters like I did when I had the RAZR?

    Thanks
    Ivan


    EDIT:
    Just got this message from Verizon. Apparently they have changed their ways! :)

     

    Advertisement
  2. DGalt

    DGalt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    8
    Download Handcent, it's a better texting app than the stock one. It will split the text for you automatically.
     
  3. hopla

    hopla Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well you could use Handcent and in the settings enable it to break up texts longer than 160 characters. If you like the stock app then just type 160 characters then send, then type another 160 then send, then another and another. Shouldn't be too hard.
     
  4. ivanpk

    ivanpk Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the help guys. I just got Handcent and it is working perfectly to what I wanted.

    And thanks for the tip of writing the 160char then send, then the other 160, etc. However, I enjoyed typing out the entire message then hitting send, and not worrying about the character limit. I prefer the Handcent approach because I don't want to have to 'downgrade' the way I text because of Verizon!
     
  5. andrew53517

    andrew53517 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    18
    Handcent is amazing! I had this same problem and it solved everything.. great app! :)
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    TBH, there is another thread where the virtues (and misfortunes associated with using Handcent have led a lot of people (including me, too, now) to switch to ChompSMS - it is missing one thing, the home screen widget showing you the number of unread SMS you have, as well as a small glitch (after you hit the done key, the keyboard and entry field stay up, forcing you to hit the back softkey to get back to Chomp).

    But, it makes up for it in terms of stability, configurability, and, TBH, usability.
     
  7. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    ChompSMS for the win!
     
  8. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    Handcent has the widget :)
    Very nice app and seemless integration as well as a seemingly endless set of things to tweak on the UI.
    On another note, just send an email - texts are supposed to be a sentence or two. ;)
     
  9. ikithme

    ikithme Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    20
    I love how people think the 160 char limit is because of verizon or whomever carrier they are using...

    It's actually a standard... Twitter char max = 160 because you can text in tweets and recieve them by text. Myspace status updates = 160 because you can text in updates and recieve them by text.

    Now when texting from verizon to verizon it seems that limit is gone because its handeled by verizon and they know what THEIR max is however when not texting from verizon to verizon they limit it to the standard so they don't have to worry about the other carrier etc.
     
  10. aimZz

    aimZz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    verizon upgraded? it now says "blah blah blah..160+ characters are sent as plain text in multiple segments" yay.
     
  11. SinfulDragon

    SinfulDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    36
    just add a subject to the txt and it changes it to an MMS and now you have a 1000 Char limit.

    Handcent and Chomp seem to screw with my phones ability to stay connected to the network both wirelessly and through the 3G connection causing me to have to restart my phone in order to get it working again.
     
  12. crankerchick

    crankerchick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    113
    Happen to have a link to the thread handy?
     
  13. ivanpk

    ivanpk Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the confusion - I knew about the 160 char limit. I did not think Verizon was making this. I liked how with ATT, it would break up your message into as many 160 char messages as it took to send the whole thing, and att to att got the whole message in one. Verizon however only sends the first 160 characters of a message to non-verizon. This is what I was upset about.
     
  14. baka

    baka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    per a vzw rep when i first switched a while back (and trust me, i know reps dont always know $#17, but i think this is correct):

    the 160 character limit is the limit for all sms. vzw replies automatically to you with an sms notifying you that if you send an sms more than 160 characters, your intended recipient may not receive the message in its entirety or in the way you intended it.

    basically, its a disclaimer from vzw saying that if you send a message to, i believe only non vzw, people that is over 160 characters then they're not responsible for whether or not it was delivered.
     
  15. ivanpk

    ivanpk Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I understand this. Sorry I know you are trying to help. :) Just trying to clear up confusion about what I was saying.
    I know the limit is 160 for all SMS.

    The thing is with ATT, I would send a text like this:

    'long long long long long ....... over 160 char" and it would be sent like this:

    1st message: "long long long" <-- first 160 char.
    2nd message "...over 160 char" <--remainder of characters

    Meanwhile, with VZW, it only sent the first 160 to my friend. I asked them if they got the full message or multiple messages and they said they only got the first 160 and it cut off. That is what I was upset about!
     
  16. baka

    baka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    yuppers. thats what happens. and sometimes, even with ATT, the full message isnt sent or its jumbled to hell. ATT just doesnt give you the notification that vzw does.

    one more thing, apparently you cant get vzw to stop spamming you so use handcent.
     
  17. ivanpk

    ivanpk Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup. Never had any jumbled messages though.
    I use handcent now and it is good. Am checking out chomp as well.
     
  18. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    It's not VZWs fault. It's a limitation built into CDMA. It was intended to be a "hort message service" So don't get angry at Big Red. =) Haha. Get mad at Google. B/C my Motorola Q9m split messages up. It sent 4 at once before, so it sure isn't Moto's fault either. But I use Handcent, I love it. I like how I can change the font, put a background image, change colors, I use Android style though, I don't like the little chat bubbles.

    Also AT&T is only 160 too? I could have sworn I could send up to 250 per sms when I was on T-Mobile.
     
  19. asilver

    asilver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    2
    handscent plus swype....fuhgettaboutit.
     
  20. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Chomp minus swype....fuhgettaboutit :D
     
  21. droidosis

    droidosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    25
    Did anyone actually test this and go over 160, I could swear the stock app broke my msg up and sent a barrage of sms's.

    And what the other poster said, if you add a subject it becomes an mms and you can txt a book. (Menu, add subject)

    -droidosis-
     
    stephanos likes this.
  22. Jake43

    Jake43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    14
    Unfortunately I believe it is a problem with Android. I know on WinMo (My Omnia and Moto Q9) it automatically divided up the message for me. Do other android phones not do this as well?
     
  23. droidosis

    droidosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    25
    I sent myself a super long SMS with stock app. It sent it in two messages.

    Breaks it up from Verizon to Verizon but someone needs to test another carrier. It was an SMS, not an MMS.

    -droidosis-
     
  24. ivanpk

    ivanpk Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm that Verizon-Verizon will get the full message, but Verizon-other carrier will not.
     
  25. crankerchick

    crankerchick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    113
    winmo did breat it up and i liked that. and even more, in your inbox (prior to threading) and in the conversation (once it got threading), it still showed it as 1 message even though it broke it up and sent it as 2.

    one nitpicky thing about handcent for me is sure it breaks up the message for me, but in the conversation window it also shows it as broke up so you have this.

    Droid User: long long long....long...and it broke up here
    Droid User: and continued here and that's annoying to me

    I want to see

    Droid Uswer: long long long....long and it broke up here and continued here even though it was still sent as 2 messages.
     

Share This Page

Loading...