160+ sms in 2.0.1!


Last Updated:

  1. MrDonBonJovi

    MrDonBonJovi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just noticed this when typing up a message. 2.0 did not have this for me. Can anyone confirm? When you get close to the limit it displays a countdown 5/1, 4/1, 3/1 etc down to 1/1. Then moves to */2. Meaning second txt.
     

    Advertisement
  2. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    yes, it's nice...but I still get the msgs from Verizon when I send it saying that messages over 160 or with pictures will be sent in plain text format - wish they'd just send that once and stop.
     
  3. zandroid

    zandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had that before the update, it nice.
     
  4. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    I had it before as well. The only problem is I don't know if the Droid will actually split that into two separate messages, or if the rest of it just gets lost in the void.
     
  5. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    it gets split into two, like on any other phone (that I've used, at least)
     
  6. Hola91

    Hola91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm pretty sure if you send the text to someone else on verizon they get the whole message. If you send to an at&t or sprint customer, etc they only recieve the first 160 characters. That's just in my experience, if someone else knows otherwise throw it out there.
     
  7. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes i was having issues with the whole cutting off after 160. It says */2 but if you send it to a non verizon phone they only get the first message. Handcent will automatically split for you though.
     
  8. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    Yep text's over 160 get cut off when sending to someone on Sprint. At least they did on 2.0.
     
  9. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    seriously? when I'd send long message from my TMobile phone it would split them and send the person 2 messages. That sucks if it doesn't do that.
     
  10. Hola91

    Hola91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah all the girls I ever dated never had verizon so the texts would always get cut off after 160 with any phone I had (EnV, Voyager, etc). Any time I got a text over 160 from them it would come in as multiple messages. Verizon customers though get the whole thing in one shot from what I can tell.
     
  11. Flannelwarrior

    Flannelwarrior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    My workaround is to use Handcent app for messaging, and it automatically splits texts that are over 160 characters. So basically you can send messages like you'd be able to if you were on AT&T and texting someone with Verizon. There's no way to make it send as all one text, but it will at least split so you don't have to send 5 individual texts, and since it splits it, you don't get the VZW text reply, EVER.

    The annoying thing about it though, is that it splits it up no matter who you're texting, so it'll split texts for people who have Verizon, too. On my end, this makes no difference, but it's annoying for the person who has to receive my message in a bunch of different installments (don't you just hate getting a message broken into a bunch of texts, sometimes out of order?)
     
  12. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    Interesting, Verizon needs to get with the program and split it and send multiple msgs, then...

    in addition, the #/# thing goes away when holding it horizontally, when you're actually typing in it, close the on-screen keyboard and it shows up. Holding it vertically it always show the #/# when over 160.
     
  13. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    I will check out that app. tks
     
  14. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    The 160 character limit is way outdated. It's completely ridiculous given the negligible amount of money it actually costs Verizon to send texts over their network. They just need to get rid of it. All carriers do. At least double it or something.
     
  15. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    160 is the hard limit to SMS. Other phones get around this because they automatically split up the messages to meet the requirements of 160 (that includes the phone number). When it crosses between carriers, they don't go Verizon directly to AT&T, but instead pass through a 3rd party company for cross-carrier messaging. Other carriers may use a different 3rd party provider that splits it for them... who knows.

    While I agree SMS is outdated, it was designed for short messages, that is why they created MMS (not only pictures, but can do text-only messages and I believe is limited at 1000 characters). SMS is handled on the cell control channel hence the limitation. It is the same "service" that tells your phone to ring for incoming calls.
     
  16. T0LLPHR33

    T0LLPHR33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    i swear the count down character counter to 160 has been there since the last update...or at least since I got my phone over 1 month ago...but still a good feature to have...
     
  17. ParOrUnder

    ParOrUnder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My "remaining characters" counter appears as soon as I type my first character (159/1). It covers that last part of my first line and is very annoying. I don't think it did this when I first got my eris. It sounds like it should appear when you approach 160 characters which is how I remember it working. Any ideas why it might be doing this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...