1st Factory Reset!General


Last Updated:

  1. poland626

    poland626 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    13
    I got the low memory storage space notification and backed up everything, then, I did a factory reset.

    I NEVER knew how much I loved everything before I erased it. I'm glad I backed it up because I feel like if I didn't, I would seriously break my phone in half.

    Anyone else have to do a factory reset yet?
     

    Advertisement
  2. kpantz

    kpantz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    19
    Sigh...3 of them if you include the work needed to set up my replacement Incredible. I actually wrote a procedure document to get me through most of the config stuff that I had locked in as ideal for me and my tastes. Thank goodness for AppBrain; otherwise, I'd never remember what apps I had installed!

    It's funny, though - I never realized how visually appealing the default HTC home screen is on the Incredible. That said, I'm a tinkerer and it is always the first thing I blow away. ;)
     
  3. aero83

    aero83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've gotten the memory error twice. Stock and stock rooted with the radio OTA.

    Pushed me to try the 2.2 roms that are out, like them but battery life is far short of the OTA so far. Frustrating when I get horrible battery life to begin with due to the poor signal area I spend a lot of time in. It makes it even worse.
     
  4. hgoldner

    hgoldner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    39
    kpantz, would really like to see the procedure document. I keep getting the low memory error; most of my stuff routinely backed up via MyBackupPro, and the most important data I have either has internal backup routine to SD, or is automatically synched with the cloud or my desktop.

    ...but a doc to make sure one hasn't missed anything would be helpful.

    Pretty much had hard resets down to an art when I used Palm OS. They never really bothered me, 'cause I could do a restore and get the unit back within literally minutes the way I wanted it.
     
  5. weasel123

    weasel123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you do a factory reset?
     
  6. kpantz

    kpantz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    19
    Menu > Settings > Privacy > Factory Data Reset

    Sigh - had to do it AGAIN last night because my calendar stopped syncing (and deleted) any of my recurring Exchange events.
     
  7. kpantz

    kpantz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    19
    It's nothing scientific. Things like what apps to install, how to customize their settings (in some cases down to the individual keypresses and navigation paths), what ringtones to set, etc. I really only did it to ensure I didn't forget about a useful/fun application or setting. I can still paste parts of it if you're interested, but it's totally underwhelming. :)
     
  8. poland626

    poland626 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    13
    WAIT, I just read the sticky, but I still get 3g, wtf?
     
  9. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    Guess it's random I just did a factory reset with my wifes Eris yesterday everything works like a charm
     

Share This Page

Loading...