2.1 and OS X


Last Updated:

  1. TheButcher

    TheButcher Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone installed the official 2.1 update using a Mac? If so I would appreciate some help. I can't use HTC sync so I don't know what to do.
     

    Advertisement
  2. toasty

    toasty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    25
    I'm a mac guy as well, and from what I understand, our options are: (1) take it to a Sprint store, or (2) borrow a PC. Parallels won't work, not sure about running Windows via Boot Camp.
     
  3. cajunman4life

    cajunman4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm attempting right now in windows via bootcamp. The only hold-up: Downloading HTC Sync... it's incredibly slow, estimated at 4 hours eta now... I'll need to go to sleep before then.

    Heck, the update itself downloaded faster (and was 3x the size)
     
  4. cajunman4life

    cajunman4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turns out I had an older version of HTC sync installed... all it's really needed for is to be sure the drivers are on your system. So I'm forgoing the update to HTC sync and skipping right to the RUU. It's updating now, I'll let you know.

    Seeing as how this is essentially the same as any windows-based pc, I'm not expecting any issues.
     
  5. cajunman4life

    cajunman4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update went smoothly in Windows through bootcamp.
     
  6. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    Good to know, thanks
     
  7. mattbeef

    mattbeef Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe if it was 1995. Try one you might be suprised and learn a thing or two :rolleyes:

    Has anyone tried VMWare or Virtual Box?

    I have used Parallels for updating TomTom's and VAGCOM (VW car SW) and its worked fine everytime with Win XP
     
  8. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    This isn't the place to start a Mac VS PC debate.
     
  9. TheButcher

    TheButcher Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Who is starting a Mac vs Pc debate? I am not.

    Has anyone done this without using a virtual machine?
     
  10. big_z

    big_z Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    57
    I did it with Parallels 5 and a Windows 7 VM. I installed Sync on the VM before I did anything, then when I plugged my phone in Parallels popped up a dialog asking if I wanted to connect the phone to my Mac or to the VM. I selected "VM", copied the RUU (which I downloaded on the Mac side) from my Parallels shared folder, ran it, worked like a champ.
     

Share This Page

Loading...