2.1 deskclock not showing weather


Last Updated:

  1. FUCCO

    FUCCO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    I installed the 2.1 deskclock because the 2.0.1 was just too bright. Last night i put it in my multimedia dock. However there is no weather. It just says "weather temperature unavailable". I went into the settings and the weather settings is defualted for my zip code. it does show my location and temp. I done understand then why it does not display temp in the dock.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Beeray

    Beeray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine didn't either. I happened to install the flan gallery and then it worked, go figured. I then deleted the gallery and it still works but shows celsius.

    Rochelle
     
  3. FUCCO

    FUCCO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    what is the "flan" gallery?
     
  4. Beeray

    Beeray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    It shows your photos in the gallery. It is a nice app but I just didn't need it. It was posted and if you google it, it should come up.

    Rochelle
     
  5. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
    Why is it to bright?... can't you just turn down the brightness from the power bar?. Thats what i do... save you battery... and your eyes. ;)
     
  6. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    2.1 gallery with Multi-touch capabilities.
     
  7. FUCCO

    FUCCO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    i have installed the new gallery app. I have everything i see installed properly. When i put it in the dock i get two options. The first is multimedia which works good and shows the temperature immediately. The second is clock(which is the 2.1 version), With this it does not show the temp or weather. It still says weather unavialable. When i tap the message it brings up the news and weather widget which correctly displays the temperature.
     
  8. kokiangel

    kokiangel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    353
    I can't help you but I can add to the confusion. My 2.1 clock shows the weather in Celsius in the dock but when you tap on the weather and it opens up it is in Fahrenheit. I can't get Fahrenheit to show on the desktop part at all. And then it goes into a sort of screensaver mode and the weather part is gone as it flits slowly all over the screen. It is dim though. That is nice.
     
  9. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    10
    The celcius thing is a known bug. You have to install the 2.1news and weather app Droid-life has it
     
  10. taz55

    taz55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    6
    I thought the 2.1app is what I was using that had the bug
     
  11. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    10
    The 2.1 deskclock has to have the 2.1 news and weather app installed in order to display the weather. When these are run on 2.0.1 for some reason temp only displays in Celsius when docked.
     
  12. kokiangel

    kokiangel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    353
    I was going to say, I have 2.1 news and weather and I still get Celsius when docked. Guess it is just gonna have to BUG me:p. Usually not paying much attention to the temp when I am asleep anyway.
     
  13. FUCCO

    FUCCO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    i have the news and weather app on my phone. It correctly shows me my weather for buffalo ny. I cant figure out that when i dock the phone it says "weather information currently unavailable"
     
  14. FUCCO

    FUCCO Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    6
    got the weather to display. I think u have to have the settings in the droid to use wireless signals to find locations. I had a zip code listed on the app for my location. when i did the wireless signals i have the weather but just in celsius. I even unchecked the celsius in the setting but no farenheit
     
  15. mckeller

    mckeller Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Having the same problem also. But I am also experiencing the wrong location for all my weather apps. I live in Indianapolis, and sometimes it shows me in Decatur, IN. Which is 2 hours North of Indy. What is funny is that I live in Decatur Township! It does not matter if I choose "my location" or enter my zip in the settings of the app. I have also changed from location and gps in the phones settings too.
     
  16. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    36
    Mine would do this also. I technically live in lanier township, so it would say Lanier in my weather. Since I don't actually live within the city limits, I guess the GPS puts me in the township. This is probably what is happening to you. To fix it, I just disabled the my location options for weather and just had it list by my zipcode.
     
  17. micp1480

    micp1480 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, here is what I did. I couldn't get the weather to display on the screen, and so I downloaded the news and weather app and still nothing. Everything else is working fine, so I got rid of news and weather and that removed that saying, "weather unavailable". Until they can fix the weather problem I can live with it. I want to know when you hard press the dimmer and it goes green, does the time suppose to move around like a screen saver, or does it stay constant? Mine just stays constant is the reason why I am asking. I tell you what would make this a killer app is to have a timer on the music to shut off automatically as you listen to music to fall asleep with. I would take this over the weather.


    MICP 1480
     
  18. Shadowtech

    Shadowtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    36
    If you get one of the ERE25 roms, the weather works on the clock. Maybe if you don't want the whole rom, just try the .apk from it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...