2.1 FAIL emergency rollback


Last Updated:

  1. spaziod

    spaziod Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok... looks like it will be a few weeks before Sprint pushes a "bug free" 2.1

    I install the leak via RUU exe file.

    Phone is trashed.. completely useless as a phone, have to pull the battery reboot and quickly make a call before it locks up or crashes.

    Can you guys tell me how to roll back, hack, crack, smack, or otherwise install a working ROM?

    thx in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    this is the exact reason many of us will never root and flash no matter how many times people say they love it
     
    quejay19, slbailey1 and thefley like this.
  3. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    It is impossible to go back to 1.5 stock. The HBoot is updated and it will fail if you try to use 1.56 RUU.


    Your only options are to root the phone and install either a new 2.1 ROM or a 1.5 ROM.

    However, I think the lockups you are having are due to the audio problem. I chose option 2 in the following thread. Then I installed the Audio fix on the XDA forums (it is an ERIS file that works on the hero). This may solve your problems.

    Here are the links.

    Sprint 2.1 leak - Android Central Forums (use option 2)

    [FIX] Audio Loss Final - xda-developers (Use the Eris File after you install the ROM)

    Edit:

    Oh snap. First you have to root your phone. Use the following thread:

    http://forum.androidcentral.com/htc...pair-your-bootloader-after-using-2-1-ruu.html
     
  4. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    Don't say I didn't warn you guys...I posted several times about the audio loss issue with the 2.1 leak.
     
  5. spaziod

    spaziod Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will give this a shot... thx
     
  6. redman722

    redman722 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its worked just fine with me now that my facebook mysteriously started working right. Oh well.
     
  7. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Scary stuff, I keep waffling... root, don't root? But now, I think I will just wait for Sprint to provide the Real Official 2.1. I am happy with my Hero as it is now.

    I found that Proximity Sensor was causing me some issues. So I uninstalled it, and learned to hold the phone slightly away from my face for 30 seconds till the display turns off. No more issues.

    Edit: I realize that root is not the same as installing this leaked pre 2.1.
     
  8. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    I sincerely hope you get the help you need and get it working right again!
     
  9. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    The reason I stay away from any root...
     
  10. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah the method I posted above has been working great for me.

    The only thing missing is the Mic input on the keyboard. Oh and the new HTC widgets

    Love it right now
     
  11. spaziod

    spaziod Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    uggg... uggg... flash_image not found

    having problems in the rooting steps....
     
  12. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    261
    Hey can you get into recovery on 2.1 and just wipe and set back to basically the stock 2.1?
     
  13. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    The name of the file is wrong (in the text the person posted)... u need to delete the two "." in the flash file when you type it into the command prompt, It should be v152.img not v 1.5.2.img
     
  14. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    You have to get to Root first. Which is in the link i posted above
     
  15. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    261

    Not on the 2.1 ruu as it's already rooted!
     
    me2u69 likes this.
  16. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    have you tried getting to the recovery mode then?
     
  17. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Good luck OP.

    REMINDER TO ALL - Regardless of if others say it is safe; all rooting, flashing, hacking, etc CAN break your phone! Always proceed with caution.
     
    quejay19 likes this.
  18. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    261
    Yes I have done it numerous times! It's not the traditional RM that is normal, but the option to wipe back to factory defaults is there!

    Check the pre 2.1 thread I have a jpeg of the menu in there!
     
  19. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    I think the Op wants to get a better working version though. The 2.1 RUU he has on there has audio issues which are widespread. He needs to ROOT it according to the above thread so that he can install a better ROM and audio fix
     
  20. Roman G.

    Roman G. No-Posting Probation

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    261

    Yup I gathered that, just giving him another option.:D
     
  21. spaziod

    spaziod Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    absolutely no idea what to do with this link even if I could get the damn thing rooted again

    [FIX] Audio Loss Final - xda-developers (Use the Eris File after you install the ROM)

    guess I will be purchasing a wal-mart throwaway to take on the road for communication... crap on the day I read about 2.1... crap on the day I first heard the word android.... crap on the day I first saw a cellular phone... .crap on the day.. this is every bit user error... it always is I am such a goofball user... why didn't I take the blue pill
     
  22. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Just a shot... try flashing the 2.1 RUU again and see if it holds better.
     
  23. rmmorse81

    rmmorse81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    After you get it rooted and install the rom in option 2... u go back to recovery and install that via the recovery under the sdcard.. same way u load a ROM
     
  24. spaziod

    spaziod Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok.... will try again after I repent and eat supper... perhaps even have an adult beverage with my lovely wife ;-)
     
  25. pierceNKC

    pierceNKC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry, wrong thread
     

Share This Page

Loading...