2.1 flashingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. acoole

    acoole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    6
    How do you flash to Android 2.1 on a T-Mobile Samsung I5700.
     

    Advertisement
    mckolley likes this.
  2. iKelvinn

    iKelvinn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
  3. acoole

    acoole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    6
    I don't want to pay to take off my sim lock but I want 2.1, if I attempt to flash the firmware while I have a sim lock on, will it brick?
     
  4. iKelvinn

    iKelvinn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't think it will even work, but no I don't think it will brick.
    But in the guide says clearly it needs sim unlocked.. so yeah..
     
  5. acoole

    acoole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    6
    The guide is wrong, it worked fine, however I've downgraded back to a newer version of 1.5. The 2.1 beta seemed horribly laggy and slow. So I'm going to wait it out for the 2.1. I DO NOT recommend upgrading seriously, it's a nice preview of 2.1 but I believe it's a long way from finished, it's extremly slow, 1.5 is nice and smooth whilst 2.1 is as slowwer than a cheap touchscreen phone.
     
  6. iKelvinn

    iKelvinn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    I already upgrades mine i didnt notice any different between 2.1 bera and 1.5 it can be slow because of the samsung home (pantheon) but i already rooted it and replaced with the standard android home
     
  7. acoole

    acoole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    6
    Even then, it's still not perfect and since I use my phone heavily I really want a more stable base. I was hoping it would be the actual OS just released early but by the looks of it it's not quite finished.
     
  8. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    I totally agree with you on that! Its far from a finished product. I, at first, was very keen to flash my device to i570EDDJB2, but couldn't seem to do that for some reason. Now, when I've finally managed to do it, I immediately removed it from my device and reverted back to i5700XEIL5 (i5700DDIK2 - original). Following are "few things" those I found wrong atleast with i570EDDJB2:

    -- Home screens lag horribly, while we swipe.
    -- Free memory, at fresh install, remains 40-50MB even after task-killing (70-80MB with v1.5)
    -- Very small-size handle for pull-up menu. Thumb doesn't land easily!
    -- The UI that samsung designed from Camera App look ugly (sorry sam!) and custom looks are not native to Android at all. (I don't know if it's possible either.)
    -- I experienced some color-banding particularly with android widgets. Don't know if it's specific to i5700 display only.

    I totally missed out butter-smooth transitions of my good 'ol cupcake, could not miss it out for more, and dropped back to v1.5 finally :D

    I believe it would be much better if samsung enable v2.1 to run on i5700 only functionality-wise, and leave-alone the UI part atleast. We don't want v2.1 struggling along custom-UIs all the time, which are good for nothing. i5700 is not a power-house. Its only +128MB of RAM and Plain Vanilla is what we expect.
     
  9. iKelvinn

    iKelvinn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is because the home screen from samsung (Pantheon) it sucks and eats memory thats why we should use the normal home from android 2.1

    The camera app design is the one from android lol. samsung didnt make it.
     
  10. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thats what m saying lol!

    Thats from samsung. Samsung made that design, and to confirm that see other models from samsung. Those all have a similar design, no matter whether they r symbians, java, or whatever! Take S5230 (java phone) for an example.

    Get your facts straight!
     
  11. finalmoksha

    finalmoksha New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am currently using a modded ROM from forum.samdroid.net. It is simply awesome. No Pantheon, Live wallpapers, wysies phone.apk and contacts.apk and great animations. You guys might want to try it out if you dont mind using the google translate service :) .
     
  12. skyline21

    skyline21 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you install lkmod on a t-mobile phone uk ?
    thanks
     
  13. finalmoksha

    finalmoksha New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I have an unlocked Spica.
     
  14. skyline21

    skyline21 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you know how to backup my current rom?
    as i would like to try the v2.1 rom
     
  15. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    one more eclair ROM (I5700XXJBA ) published by samsung-firmware
     
  16. iKelvinn

    iKelvinn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    to backup your data you need to have root access


    That one was bugged I believe..
     
  17. acoole

    acoole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    6
    Your right, I believe that is the bugged one.

    And skyline, I didn't backup my T-Mobile 1.5 firmware so I'm now on a some other 1.5 firmware, I'd reccomend you back your 1.5 up so you don't lose any features, and if you do manage to back it up, could you please upload it and send me a link, as I'd love to have my old 1.5 back :)
     
  18. skyline21

    skyline21 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anybody know how to backup your firmware a this is all that is stopping me trying the update

    i have found some instructions but i dont know if they work
    using a terminal or adb shell
    dd if=/dev/bml5 of=/sdcard/factory.rfs
    dd if=/dev/bml4 of=/sdcard/zimage


    is this correct????? are these all i need to backup
     
  19. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi all,

    Just flashed to the latest I570EXXJC3. For the record, the files those I got out of the package were not as friendly as we used to use with other ROMs. So, quickly figured it out that this is a single package and we need to check "One Package" checkbox from Odin to continue flash. Flash was like a charm and interestingly the performance is way much faster from the previous leaked ROM. Still exploring...

    Update :
    -- No Setup wizard at startup.
    -- Cam-app has 'auto focus' ON; by default this time.
    -- 'Spare Parts' app missing :(
    -- (now posting from i5700); No separate keyboard other than a android one.
    -- About phone >> Firmware version lists '2.1-update1', Baseband Version lists 'i5700XEIL5'
     
  20. acoole

    acoole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    6
    Cool! Any chance you could tell me whether or not the scrolling between the home screens is smoother now? As I'm hoping it will be the same speed as 1.5 soon or at least by the official release.
     
  21. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is what I was more concerned about. Luckily, this time the swipe experience is way too cool. Home screens scroll fast (just slightly slower than v1.5, ya slightly!), menu transitions are fast, overall everything good! Definitely, this is not a ROM you use for a week and then fall back to v1.5. There's still room for few if not many improvements, for a day-to-day use, this ROM is the best out there I would say.
     
  22. acoole

    acoole Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    6
    You couldn't post a youtube video or somthing of you just generally using the phone(and the awesome sliding experience!) because I don't want to flash again until everythings great and It'd really help me decide :)

    Thanks,
    Andrew
     
  23. Gurdeep.Singh.Mander

    Gurdeep.Singh.Mander Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    4
    @Andrew

    Ya sure! But m afraid the quality would be not that good. I do not have an proper equipment. I tried and end up having blurry video :(
     
  24. iKelvinn

    iKelvinn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
  25. allanmk

    allanmk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi' I just flashed to I570EXXJC3 from i570EDDJB2 and when i check my firmware version (*#1234#) the phone says:
    PDA: I570EXXJC3
    PHONE: I570EDDJB2


    It seems to be working as it should but how do I upgrade the PHONE to I570EXXJC3 as well? Have I forgot to an option "check" in odin? I of course chose the "One Package" option and used the new spica ops.
     

Share This Page

Loading...