2.1 now enforces Exchange policy - phone lock!


Last Updated:

  1. pwptsx

    pwptsx Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    After upgrading to 2.1, the phone forced me to enter a phone unlock password when I setup my exchange mail account. This sucks!! :mad: I don't want to lock my phone - too much trouble to unlock. Looks like my company's IT policy is enforcing this. But with 1.5, I could use exchange mail without requiring a phone lock.

    Has anyone figured out how to work around this? I might have to look for a different email client.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Download "lockpicker" from the market. Problem solved.
     
    Linoleum likes this.
  3. MrGreg

    MrGreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    9
    So 2.1 supports pin lock and remote data wipe?
     
  4. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
    +1
     
  5. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    I just has my sys admin change the group I was in not to enforce the policy.
     
  6. pwptsx

    pwptsx Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, this is awesome!! I'm gonna make a donation for this app. Totally worth it.
     
  7. pwptsx

    pwptsx Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, our IT isn't so obliging. It's really dumb, because I can get around IT policy by launching a browser to read email. Obviously, native email client is much easier to use.
     
  8. genuser

    genuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    21
    Has anyone figured out how to run Lockpicker while still having a pattern for security? It appears to eliminate all security.

    I would like to either have a pattern or just do the obvious... bring up a number pad when a pin is required.
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Yes, use LockPattern OnOff - Android app on AppBrain
     
  10. MrGreg

    MrGreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    9
    - Set the lock pattern
    - Set up your exchange account
    - Install lockpicker
    - Now you will be prompted for your lock pattern

    Otherwise, there is another app that I have not tried yet:
    Removing Keyguard Password Policy due to Exchange (HTC Sense & Milestone & Froyo) - xda-developers

    Or see the post above.
     

Share This Page

Loading...