2.1 official has landed - a new dilema


Last Updated:

  1. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    MoDaCo or Villain?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Modaco's 2.1 release will probably be my choice.
     
  3. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    Agreed, but whoever lands first will make it to my phone to start with I'm sure!
     
  4. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    Well Paul has already posted his version and the kitchen will be coming shortly. It's rooted with HTC_IME and Busybox added.

    I'm sure an optimised version will follow shortly.
     
  5. midge37

    midge37 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just put this on. Boots up super quick first time round!!
     
  6. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    This isn't being touted as his MoDaCo release so I'm expecting better thing to come. Also I don't see apps2sd support yet with it.
     
  7. midge37

    midge37 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's missing quite a few things 'out of the box' Facebook, Navigation are the 2 that jump out, so will give it a few hours and if no updates, putting SenseHero back on for the time being.
     
  8. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    Navigation is quite a big omission really - I wasn't expecting the 3d gallery or live wallpapers, but thought navigation was one of the main attractions of 2.1
     
  9. djbasik

    djbasik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    13
    I was going to root my phone when i got home from work today. The announcement that its release globally is imminent, should i still root?

    When the update gets released, will I still have the ability to update to the factory release of the Hero 2.1 if/when it actually gets released for the Canadian Hero. As of right now, im in the I'll Believe it when I see it stage...

    Basically my question is will the root stop me from doing anything from factory in the future?
     
  10. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    I believe you can still go back to stock after rooting
     
  11. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    Rooting can always be reversed, but updating officially will quite possibly be non-reversible resulting in no future improvements (including 2.2 one day)
     
  12. djbasik

    djbasik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    13
    By no future improvements do you mean that I may not be able to root the phone again after the update?
     
  13. ronin

    ronin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    That may be the case, although I'd be willing to bet it wouldn't be long before someone manages to root.
     
  14. tojjer

    tojjer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    8
    Me too ;)
     
  15. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    Until someone does though, there is still an element of risk. Hence the warnings on some of the geekier forums "not to flash". I think the Desire can now be rooted, but it's a trickier procedure with no ability to do a backup first.
     
  16. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    There are root friendly versions of the stock ROM, so no need to risk losing your rooting abilities if you want a stock ROM :)

    *Downloading a cooked modaco 2.1 ROM*
     
  17. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes, but this still requires using a recovery image, which is somewhat more involved than doing a straightforward official OTA update.
     
  18. will65mcmanus

    will65mcmanus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    4
    I will be wanting the modaco version when its released
     
  19. midge37

    midge37 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've rolled back to SenseHero for the time being.
     
  20. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,383
    Likes Received:
    16,484
    A2SD is coming Monday, along with further enhancments. Facebook/Flickr, Maps etc are already available in the Kitchen but you know how Paul works - it won't be available for public consumption until he's sure it's ready.
     
  21. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I'm sure if you're desperate you can just flash the apps2sd.zip over the top of it. It seems to work for every 2.1 ROM I've tried.
     
  22. mgillespie

    mgillespie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    13
    ??? Errmm you get them from the store, and they stay updated via the store? it would be insane to include these in the base ROM...
     
  23. phillevy

    phillevy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'm well aware that you can get maps from the store ( I assume you really mean the market), but where is an app called navigation? It was said above that navigation was missing ( not the actual maps app). Same with gallery 3d - not seen this in the market either. I know that all this will be available to us with custom ROM's, but I thought the maps (with navigation) would be a base feature for everyone else. If it works by default if you install maps then that is fine, but if it doesn't, then that is a surprising omission.
     
  24. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Maybe it's just that Taiwan don't get the nav app?
     
  25. MarDoubleT

    MarDoubleT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just gave the 'MoDaCo' a quick bash, looks good, feels good! Not as radical an aesthetic change as I was expecting mind. Something keeps fc-ing though, so rolled back to 3.2, will retry it tomorrow most likely.
     

Share This Page

Loading...