2.1 Official Update is here in Canada.General


Last Updated:

  1. soorkedy

    soorkedy New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just a heads up to my fellow Canadians on Rogers.

    I just updated my Samsung Spica to 2.1 through New PC Studio yesterday (6/27/10). Everything seems to work fine, and my apps all seem to be a little more stable under this release (had a few force close problems that are now gone).

    :)
     

    Advertisement
    smoke_weed likes this.
  2. rwZephyr

    rwZephyr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    16
    Any word on how to do this from a spica using a non signed 2.1?

    Sent from my X10a using Tapatalk
     
  3. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    While it's good to see more providers offering the 2.1 update, I wouldn't rush into an Official Update from your provider, if you already updated to 2.1.

    You'll more likely find they are using an earlier firmware version. And if your phone is rooted, you will lose this functionality.

    @soorkedy

    Go into
    Menu
    Settings
    About Phone,

    and post

    Firmware version
    BaseBand version
    Kernel version
    Build No.

    thanks.
     
  4. JHW

    JHW Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I managed to find and install Samsung New PC Studio version 1.4.0 IL2. Using Windows 7 32-bit.

    The software does not detect my Rogers Spica unless I put it into "USB Debugging" mode. But then it gives the message "GT-I5700 only supports the following features: Update device"

    When I click on the icon to update the phone, I get a message "This device is not supported. The device you have selected does not support software upgrade"

    What am I doing wrong? I really want to get the standard 2.1 on my phone.

    The About section for my phone reads as follows:

    Firmware version: 2.1
    Baseband version: i570EDDJB2
    Kernel version: 2.6.29 sy.seok@SE-S605 #2
    Build number: sec_spica.eng 2.1 ECLAIR eng.sy.seok.20100218.093132 ota-rel-keys,release-
     
  5. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    You are on 2.1 albeit an older version. ECLAIR is 2.1.

    However you're using i570EDDJB2 which is an Asian Firmware. I doubt you'll ever be able to update using NPC Studio.

    Best look into how to update using the Odin way. That way you can update to the latest version.
     
  6. JHW

    JHW Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I knew I was already on Eclair, but I thought I'd be able to update the phone through New PC Studio.

    I guess I'd better do it the "old-fashioned way". Thanks for the advice.
     
  7. rwZephyr

    rwZephyr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    16
    The main reason I want to go to a provider release, is that this phone is given to me by work, and rooting it voids the warranty, and I just want to be able to switch it back when they ask for the phone back lol, I don't have 300$ to lose off my paycheck
     
  8. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Put it back to an unrooted 2.1 firmware. As long as all the phone features run with Rogers it's hightly unlikely your employer will know or even bother to check exactly what firmware was installed when you got it.

    Remember, it wasn't me Mommy. A big boy did it and ran away.
     
    smoke_weed likes this.
  9. JHW

    JHW Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Which firmware version do you recommend I use? I don't want anything too exotic. I just want camera, GPS, applications to behave properly, and I don't want to brick my phone in the process.
     
  10. smoke_weed

    smoke_weed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow thanks sooooo much man
    now i finally don't have to worry about bricking! :D
    although i don't know how to back up content?
    is it just for like apps and my sd card?
    or everything like my contacts and text?
     
  11. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Checkout my quickie backup guide for non rooted phone users.

    See

    Beerkan Quickie Backup Guide
     
    smoke_weed likes this.
  12. smoke_weed

    smoke_weed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^ I can't export to sd :S
    also I THINKI BRICKED IT :(
    i upgraded said it failed
    now im doing emergancy back up :(
     
  13. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    The latest is JE4. But there are later mods available which provide additional functionality.

    I'd stick on JE4 and go from there.

    JE4 is available here..

    I570EXXJE4

    Link is courtesy of

    http://samsung-firmware.webs.com
     
    smoke_weed likes this.
  14. smoke_weed

    smoke_weed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    NOOOOOOOOOooo
    ITS NOT RECOVERING :'(
    HOW DO I MAKE IT WORRKKK!!?!?!??! :|
     
  15. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Take it easy.. have a Cadbury's Caramel.. then let us talk you down.

    Take it easy

    Now.. be precise, and concise with your problems.
     
    smoke_weed likes this.
  16. smoke_weed

    smoke_weed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    i updated
    for some reason after downloading my phoneturned off i thought it was normal
    then it says upgrade fail
    then it says you need to have a emergancy recovery which i did
    then when installing it stays a 0% :|
     
  17. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Can you put the phone back into download mode

    Press and hold down in order

    "Volume Down + Camera Key + Power On"

    [​IMG]


    Or do you see this image after boot..

    [​IMG]

    If you see the Samsung LOGO leave it at this stage for 5 mins.. it looks like it's updating ok..
     
    smoke_weed likes this.
  18. smoke_weed

    smoke_weed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I GOT IT WORKING !!! :D:D:D:D:D
    all i did was take out the battery
    turn on
    there you go
    i see my final fantasy wallpaper
    my apps
    and widgets :D
    now im gonna retry updating
    because i never mounted my sd
    maybe that was why it failed ?
     
  19. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    You don't need to have SD card in while updating firmware. Remove Phone USB before putting it into download mode.

    FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS I SENT YOU...
     
    smoke_weed likes this.
  20. smoke_weed

    smoke_weed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    it works :D
     
  21. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    So are you on 2.1?

    Menu
    Settings
    About Phone
    BaseBand Version?
     
    smoke_weed likes this.
  22. smoke_weed

    smoke_weed Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    2.1-update1
    basband I5700UXJF6
     
  23. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Another satisfied customer...
     
  24. rwZephyr

    rwZephyr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    16
    Well, the downside is that I work for rogers, and I think the phone is going to be sent back for refubing, any tips on how to take it back to an unrooted 2.1 I'm fairly dull
     
  25. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Just odin it to a standard firmware. You may need to enter Rogers APN settings, but keep your head down and act dumb..
     

Share This Page

Loading...