2.1 ota rom?


Last Updated:

  1. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    So, I have a question. Is there a ROM out there that is literally the official Eris 2.1 OTA except with root access? If not what is the highest quality ROM that comes close to it? I really want root, but I LOVE the HTC widgets. And what about other ROMs? How do I know which ones are good/popular? And is there a site that shows ratings and/or screenshots for each ROM? Also, I have the 2.1 OTA now (not leak). I assume I can root using the exact same instructions for rooting from 1.5, I think I read that somewhere. I'm good on the whole process of rooting and all that, I just have no idea where the best place is to get ROMs and which ones are good.

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     

    Advertisement
  2. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/115419-rom-plainjanet2-stock-2-1-oc-a2sd.html
    That is OTA with root, OC, and A2sd.
    if you don't want to be running a2sd just do
    Code (Text):
    1.  adb shell
    2. su
    3. a2sd remove
    4.  
     
  3. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    What is the advantage of a2sd other than letting you install more apps. Does it speed up the phone or anything?

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,653
    Likes Received:
    22,003
  5. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
  6. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    It's actually likely to make the phone feel slower. Apps loading off of the SD card can't compete with apps loading off of internal memory. My understanding of A2SD is that it was prompted by a phone model that had very little memory set aside for apps. Our phones have quite a bit... Don't recall reading about anyone ever running out of space. If they did, I'd venture to say that there's at least one or two apps that they could stand to uninstall !!
     
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,653
    Likes Received:
    22,003
    Yes! :) (if you really only received the OTA, your HBOOT should allow you to root).

    ...and a2sd allows you to install apps to your /sdcard without consuming precious system memory that it normally would. I haven't run a2sd (its broken in the ROM I'm using), but I don't need it anyway since most custom ROMs give you about 140MB of free memory out of the gate anyway (vs. around 100MB w/stock 2.1--mostly through deleting some stock apps that most folks don't need (Amazon MP3 for example is a big memory hog) and doing some file optimzation). a2sd is really good for some very large apps that are huge memory hogs. I believe another side benefit is that it makes switching between different ROMs a little easier (so that your apps are immediately available (someone more knowledgable will have to address this better)).

    P.S. please be sure to read through the thread (and other stickied threads), making sure you are comfortable and ready to root. You might also want to read through this thread too, it might save you a little angst:

    * http://androidforums.com/all-things...oot-troubleshooting-guide-htc-droid-eris.html
     
  8. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    I'm okay with the whole process. I'm actually an electrical engineer and mostly write embedded software for a living. I'm also just a very tech savy person. The process itself doesn't scare me, I was just confused on where to find the ROMs themselves and what the differences are all the features and all that.
     
  9. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,653
    Likes Received:
    22,003
    Very happy and refreshing to hear that! (I was a little scared when I did it :eek:).

    Good luck! :)
     
  10. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Haha, of course I say I'm comfortable, but I'm literally just about to root, so we'll see how it goes. ;) It should go smoothly, but we'll see.
     
  11. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Done and done. I'm running Ivan's 1.0 (2.1 with OC). Just finished 5 minutes ago so I'll have to play around.
     
  12. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,653
    Likes Received:
    22,003
    Very nice! :) It took me a couple of days to fully finish the process (learned more than I initially wanted to because I didn't really understand what was going on)...wish it was this nice and easy for everyone.

    FYI, Ivan's 1.0 is a great, stable, solid ROM and I've had no reason to stray from it. You should be aware that overclocking is kernal-locked to 710MHz (which is plenty fast and safe) and a2sd is broken (you might not need it since you'll get over 140MB free at first boot). Ivan is working on v1.1 and it should be awesome (he's buidling it for speed). Plus, there's all kinds of new ROMs cropping-up everyday (kaos over at XDA has something up his sleeve :)).

    Also, don't forget to do your Nandroid backups and requisite wipes before flashing new ROMs (http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/116574-root-best-practices.html).

    Cheers!
     
  13. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Thanks, yeah, it went real smooth. I just followed the directions and it went just as it was supposed to. And I totally edumacated myself on wipes and what I need to do before flashing a new ROM so I'm good there.
     
  14. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Okay, so I installed Ivan's 1.0, and it had version 1.5 of setCPU on it. But I couldn't figure out how to uninstall it or anything as I wanted to get the new version from the market. So I went to the market anyway, bought the new version of setCPU. It said it would replace the existing version so I figured I was all good. After it installed, the old icon still appears in the apps list and when I click on it there is an error saying something like that "the app this icon is associated with no longer exists". The new version's icon is not listed anywhere, but I know it's installed as I can launch it from ASTRO. It seems it did replace setCPU 1.5 with the new version, but it didn't properly get rid of the old icon, and now that icon is broken and I can't launch the new version from the app list.

    EDIT: nevermind, a reboot fixed it.
     
  15. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,653
    Likes Received:
    22,003
    lol, you and roscuthiii are on the same wavelength tonight :p...check out his posts from this post on and see if this helps you out: http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/98457-overclocking-hmm-2.html#post1112705
     
  16. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Haha, that's hilarious. Yup, after installing the newest version over the one that comes with Ivan's, just reboot and it's all good.
     
  17. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Well, my phone is way fast. But I have no idea if it's because of the ROM and overclocking, or because I just essentially did a factory reset. The Eris is always nice and faster after a factory reset.
     
  18. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,653
    Likes Received:
    22,003
    +1 Yeah, I didn't even know whether I was or wasn't overclocked when I first installed Ivan's (I wasn't, of course, until I launched setCPU). The phone was very responsive even without overclocking :).

    P.S. don't forget your failsafe temperature profile and don't set "set-on-boot" until you are secure in how the phone behaves (although 710MHz is widely considered a very safe and stable speed). The o/c link I posted earlier has lots of good feedback and settings used by various folks.
     
  19. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Eh, I'm not scared. I'm just gonna leave it at the default settings (19 min, 710 max with on-demand scaling). I've certainly done worse to my PCs over the years.

    Or is something broken with the default settings? I assume when the phone goes to sleep or is not doing much, it will scale down the speed and vice versa if you're doing a lot on your phone.
     
  20. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,653
    Likes Received:
    22,003
    :D I left mine at the default settings for a couple of weeks before I started reading-up on setting the profiles and the temperature limit. I think most folks that really have an temp. issue are overclocking way higher (upper 700s and into the 800s) than me. I wasn't really worried until I watched my phone's temp with system panel while I was charging and saw that it jumped 9 degrees in a few minutes time. In retrospect, this temperature spike is normal while charging and nothing really to worry about, but I do usually take the phone out of the silicone case just to keep it happy. Enjoy!
     
  21. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Yeah, I don't have a case and I realized long ago that the phone gets way hot when charging, surfing the web, doing google navigation, etc. etc. This is all totally normal.
     
  22. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Here's a question for ya. I tried the wireless tethering app (after upgrading to the newest version), and it works great but I CANNOT get it to turn off. It simply won't turn off the tethering. I have no idea how else to get it to turn off the access point without rebooting or killing the app.

    When I click to stop the tethering, it just says "Please wait while stopping..." forever, it never does anything and stays on this popup indefinitely.
     
  23. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,653
    Likes Received:
    22,003
    I don't know...I tried wi-fi tethering when I first got rooted and it seemed to start/work/stop just fine for me. I wasn't overclocking then and I haven't tried it for a long time. I'm sure there are other versions floating around (i.e., like your setCPU experiences), so maybe its an issue of downloading and installing a newer version?

    P.S. I discarded my task killers shortly after rooting, but I guess I could use System Panel to nuke a rogue process (haven't had to yet...).
     
  24. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    scary alien likes this.
  25. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    I suspect you're confusing RAM and ROM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...