2.1 ringtoneSupport


Last Updated:

  1. heathershipp

    heathershipp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if it's been discussed already but I can't find the thread...

    I just joined the rooted 2.1 family and was wondering how would I do custom ringtones? I'm using RingTone.... When I save the file as a contact ringtone, it still plays the crappy default one.... I know I'm doing it right but what keeps getting it back to default? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. Zumaki

    Zumaki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    26
    Speaking of ringtones, I really wish I could use some of the default notification sounds as a ringer. The default tones are awful. Although i did find that if I set the ringer to a music file using Ringdroid, and then delete the file, it makes a phone-ringing sound.

    But as for your question, use Ringdroid.
     
  3. heathershipp

    heathershipp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used Ringdroid when I had 1.5 and the songs were choppy... Did they fix it for 2.1?
     
  4. Zumaki

    Zumaki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    26
    Crap what I meant was rings extended, it makes it so when you go to select a ringer, you can browse your sd card instead of just the android library. I always confuse the two. I've never had issues with ringtones set up with rings extended
     
  5. heathershipp

    heathershipp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the app but can't find it on my phone...
     
  6. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    15
    i use zedge
     
  7. Zumaki

    Zumaki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    26
    just go to the ringtone selector, it'll ask if you want to use rings extended to pick your ringer
     
  8. heathershipp

    heathershipp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys...



    Yes, I am still confused, hopefully I figure it out....
     
  9. chibucks

    chibucks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    48
    the default ringtones are located in system/media/audio/ringtones

    i had thought that for 1.5, we could just make a folder and throw our ringtones in there... is that not the same for 2.1? (occasionally when the sdcard was mounted, the ringtone would go back to default because you couldn't access the sdcard)

    if you want, you could probably push the .ogg files over to the default folder and be able to pick them...
     

Share This Page

Loading...