2.1 root-->1.5 downgrade-->OTA?


Last Updated:

  1. beefamato

    beefamato Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed all of these instructions to downgrade my wife's rooted 2.1 and it seems to have worked fine. I've got it back to 1.5. She wanted the OTA upgrade because the 2.1 rooted version was giving her the silent call issue.

    Again, I went back to 1.5 because I wanted the OTA update. After doing this, she got the OTA update notification, it downloaded, processed and then failed. I've also tried to install the OTA manually and it won't work. The hboot is version 1.47.

    Has anybody had success downgrading their 2.1 rooted install to 1.5 and then getting the OTA update to work? I'm back at 1.5. What should I do next to get the OTA update working?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. deathratlehead

    deathratlehead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    115
    You need to get rid of Amon's Recovery, because that is what was causing my OTA to fail. After I removed it, the ota installed just fine.

    http://androidforums.com/474953-post1.html

     
  3. beefamato

    beefamato Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help, man. That did the trick!

    I performed the downgrade on a different computer this time and flashing the recovery module seemed to go a lot smoother. I thought I did it right last time, but I guess not.

    All is well! Thanks!
     
  4. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    or you could have just flashed plain jane that jcase made out of the ota all it is, is OTA with root.
     
  5. jayrsowavy

    jayrsowavy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    straight newbie to all this. already flashed rom from 2.1 v2 to 1.5. how do you get sdk command or the program to completely work on windows 7 64-bit. do i need any other programs. i would like to have the original hboot and recovery system on my eris. having the same problem as beefamato. thanx for the help in advance guys
     
  6. ThirdCoast

    ThirdCoast Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issue, but i have tried step 3, here is what i get

    FAILED (remote: not allow) when i try to flash the recovery.img
     
  7. tymogr

    tymogr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    "I am having the same issue, but i have tried step 3, here is what i get

    FAILED (remote: not allow) when i try to flash the recovery.img"



    I get the same thing. Anyone else?
     

Share This Page

Loading...