2.1 sucks


Last Updated:

  1. roymayor

    roymayor New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so i upgraded my phone to 2.1 and now it sucks. it takes 40 seconds after i pushed call for my phone to finally start calling. it really sucks. just moving around the menus is very very slow. text msg are very very slow now. everything on my phone just got slower! i want to go back to 1.5 is that possible? i am very tempted to just throw my phone on the floor!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Reflash the RUU and if that doesn't work take it back to sprint. Sprint can reflash it for you just take it up there for them to look at.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  3. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    Take a look over here and maybe you'll change your mind
     
  4. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    exactly the same problem, I was just telling my friend who brought his 2 new iphones, one in white and one in black (yea I know, white isn't available yet, it is for him ;)), to a concert with me. No problems for him and I showed him how slow mine is and he said, "we'd never sell a product like that" I think this phone is a failure, sorry to say. Porting to verizon and a droid Tuesday, can't take this anymore
     
  5. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hmm I have 2 Heros one on 1.5 and mine on 2.1. We have been very happy with them. My room mate is just fine with 1.5 and has no reason to upgrade. I am extremely happy with 2.1 on my Hero. So much so that I decided to wait and not get an Evo.
    Everything works better on my Hero with 2.1.
    Sorry your having issues.
     
  6. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    Actually, it rocks! :p
     
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I thought the .6 update helped fix the dial out lag? At least, that's what someone mentioned on another thread or forum (I have no actual idea since my ROM is based of the .5 version)
     
  8. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    I love my hero.. I wouldn't give it up for anything besides the EVO lol
     
  9. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    The people who report that patch fixing anything are just under the placebo effect, just looking for any little difference and exaggerating about it.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
    Jimbo670 likes this.
  10. Jimbo670

    Jimbo670 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    My hero is also a ZERO. The lag has lag. Ok I feel better.

    Has anyone had luck getting a new phone from sprint. I hate to say it but I am about to jump ship. :eek: It is crap that there seems to be no support for a phone that is not even a year old.
     
  11. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Uninstall your taskiller, that's when mine resuscitated itself.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  12. EgeBamyasi

    EgeBamyasi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't have to uninstall it. Just turn it off. It's still good to keep it on your phone just in case. At least that's what I did with ATK and it made a difference.
     
  13. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Delete the "task killer" and download system panel, it shows how much cpu each app/process is actually using so you know what and when, if ever, you actually need to kill something.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
    EgeBamyasi likes this.
  14. EgeBamyasi

    EgeBamyasi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you do this with the Lite version?
     
  15. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    nope...sorry... once you updated it changed the boot image and even running the 1.56 RUU won't work... If you take it to Sprint and IF they exchange it.. it'll be with another 2.1 Hero.. Root that sucker and get a ROM that runs smoother.. like Fresh or DC or ZenExp or well.. just about any of the 2.1 custom ROMs for the Hero.
     
  16. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    @Egebamyasi

    Yes.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  17. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    this is very good advice... don't give up yet. its not the best android phone out there, but the ROMs that have been made significantly improve your likelihood to enjoy your phone. it's really like getting a whole new device, especially coming from where you're at now. good luck.
     
  18. EgeBamyasi

    EgeBamyasi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Done and did it. Thanks for the head's up.

    Pretty much the same quickness as having ATK installed and having it off. So I still think the ATK is fine installed as long as you know how to turn it off and only use when needed (i.e, don't turn it on unless you want to kill something - then turn it off again)

    Having said that, I prefer System Panel - more details - less simplicity which some may not like, but that detail certainly lets you know what's going.
     
  19. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was having the same problem with the lag. I wanted to through my phone on the floor more then once. I downloaded the 2.1 upgrade from sprint again and now my phone is working fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...