2.1 Update failed


Last Updated:

  1. niek

    niek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I just updated my phone to 2.1 (since it got released here in the netherlands).
    What happened, was this:
    reboot, then the yellow bar was filling itself. So far so good. After the yellow bar was filled 100%, it took a while, and after that the box icon changed into a white triangle with a yellow exclamation mark. The yellow progress bar disappeared.

    I waited 10-15 minutes, display didn't change. After that I removed the battery, waited a while, plugged it back in. Pressed power button, and the result was:"HERO".. nothing more.. Waited a looong time (left it on and watched my favorite series). Nothing happened...

    So now I have a broken phone, with nothing working.

    Does someone have any clues on how to fix this?

    Thanks in advance.
    Niek
     

    Advertisement
  2. Vakman

    Vakman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    14
    So what happens when you turn the phone on now? Like what comes up?
    Did you try leaving the battery out for a while and then putting it back in and then turning it on?
    Does your phone have a custom recovery image (should have asked if it is rooted)?
     
  3. niek

    niek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    - It only shows the "startup screen". So that is: only a black screen with the "HERO" logo. Without the waving green puppets. It just freezes at the logo.. nothing happens.
    - I tried removing the battery for a while, removing SD card, entering fastboot mode, entering recovery mode, everything with a long battery removal up front and everything done twive: with and without SD card
    - And I have never rooted my phone. It's brand new.
     
  4. wmjhtho

    wmjhtho Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have excactly the same problem: The unrooted phone now shows the Hero logo after the update and nothing more happens

    Any ideas?
     
  5. excel69

    excel69 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here.. :(
     
  6. Vakman

    Vakman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    14
    Wow. Looks like I won't be of much help.
    All unrooted so you won't be flashing back to a Nandroid backup.
    And this now seems like multiple people have this problem so it is likely not user error...
    Everyone just got it released? All in the Netherlands?
     
  7. wmjhtho

    wmjhtho Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the problem in Denmark
     
  8. excel69

    excel69 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm from Lithuania, and my phone was rooted, but no custom rom. Now I have same symptoms just like Niek. Can't enter recovery mode.
     
  9. niek

    niek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's all HTC's new update. So HTC's version of the 2.1-update.
    I think something might have gone wrong with that.

    Is everybody relatively new with the phone? I got mine in february this year.

    edit: the reason i ask, is because I already had the build number that was required for the update. I bought it with the correct version. So maybe something is wrong with that
     
  10. oranda

    oranda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    go into where it says about the phone a check for software update - check now

    the installation process will continue
     
  11. niek

    niek Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    can't, since the phone doesn't boot
     
  12. Nighthaunt

    Nighthaunt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    try removing the battery - and once battery has been put back in hold down the down volume and power buttons to turn phone on - gives you fastboot manu - try hitting reset - should hopefully get you working phone again...
     
  13. wmjhtho

    wmjhtho Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried that but nothing seems to work
     
  14. Nighthaunt

    Nighthaunt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    try pressing menu button - or if nothing comes up hit back arrow button then should give you the option to menu for reset:)
     
  15. wmjhtho

    wmjhtho Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok tried the reset but after reboot the HERO logo just appears again and nothing happens :-(
     
  16. excel69

    excel69 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just downgraded to 2.73.405.5 through the pc and it booted. Now will try to update again.
     
  17. zero977

    zero977 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    How did do this?

    I have the same error, when boot in "safe mode", i can choose from this 3 options, but none of them work ..

    1. reboot system now
    2. apply sdcard: update.zip
    3. wipe data / factory reset

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Vakman

    Vakman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    14
    Can you guys not re-flash to what you had before this update through the apply sdcard: update.zip? You will have to download the stock image but still.
    Wipe data/factory reset and then download stock image and rename it to update.zip and choose that option?
    Will that not work?
    Here are some for the GSM Heros, I think that is what you are using over there: 22/Jan - Stock ROMs + radios in update.zip format for GSM Hero - Android @ MoDaCo
     
  19. excel69

    excel69 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded rom from here HTC Hero - ROM Upgrade for HTC Hero and installed it
     
  20. zero977

    zero977 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. zero977

    zero977 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  22. excel69

    excel69 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It can. It connects on black "HERO" screen. Don't forget to intall htc sync.


    Edit:
    So everything is ok now :) what I did: downloaded the downgrade and installed it. After that phone booted, installed the part1 and after that part 2. Everything is ok and working now :)
     
  23. zero977

    zero977 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    HTC Sync installed, but now, in this case doesn't "sense" the plugged Hero, i cannot upgrade the ROM, it says "connection error", no connection with HERO ...
     
  24. wmjhtho

    wmjhtho Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    manage to reboot (power on + volume down plus select fastboot USB) & run the old HTC rom: Now got the phone back again :)

    It then say there was an update (the part 1 2.1 and then later the part 2 2.1) I say yes to these updates and then the same problem: The frezing Hero Logo. I guess I will use the Android 1.6 the next couple of days until someone comes up with a solution
     
  25. zero977

    zero977 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    YES!!!
    You are the Hero of the Day!
    It was the key, that use the fastboot mode, now i could upgrade the ROM!

    Many thanks!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...