2.1 Update is hereGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. oam

    oam Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1

    Advertisement
  2. 4mynikka

    4mynikka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    Will this work on the Telus Milestone? Or Will I need to wait for Telus to release an update? Sorry if the question is common knowledge I'm a former blackberry user and it's my first time with an Android phone.
     
  3. oam

    oam Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not sure, but I personally would suggest you wait for Telus to update your phone. If its out for me and european milestones, then it should be soon (probably this week) for the Telus version.
     
    4mynikka likes this.
  4. chyau.00

    chyau.00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    hfda;fa

    i was doing the OTA last night. and this morning i didnt see any progress. so i restarted my phone and now when i go back to it..it still says 'dling in progress'........
    does this mean i have to factory reset my phone? or is there a cache somewhere i can clear?
     
  5. 4mynikka

    4mynikka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    looks like its trying to download and update for you. Just make sure you have good reception or better yet a solid wifi connection. I tried to update mine last night and it said my phone was already up to date.
     
  6. chyau.00

    chyau.00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    nahhh its not.

    the status bar is gone.
     
  7. chyau.00

    chyau.00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok.. so i tried updating via computer...anddd noww i have 2.1!
     
  8. 4mynikka

    4mynikka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I
    Who's your service provider? Please say Telus.
     
  9. chyau.00

    chyau.00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    i was actually referring to my earlier post on how my update was 'stuck'...

    but to answre your question...my provider is Rogers... but i have a HK milestone
     
    Loriolus likes this.
  10. 4mynikka

    4mynikka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a Telus device on rogers I guess I have to wait.
     
  11. chyau.00

    chyau.00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
  12. SEI

    SEI Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    nvm..
     
  13. chyau.00

    chyau.00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    did anyone else find this update great..but still lacking?

    Compared to nexus 1, we are missing

    launcher 2.1
    media 2.1
    music app 2.1
    keyboard with voice
    new alarm.

    am i missing anything else?
     
  14. mcmc

    mcmc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also did the update. Went smoothly with an issue. BTW, I used the Motorola Software Update program downloaded from HK site.

    For the missing Apps drawer and Gallery, I think we can install it on our own. I remember seeing them somewhere in the forum...

    But I really like the camera update. It is a LOT better now. Makes it usable. :)
     
  15. dancedreamfly

    dancedreamfly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    7
    Downloaded update via Motorola Software Update and flashed using RSD Lite. For some reason MSU didn't want to update my phone. Noticed the missing 2.1 apps too, do a search around the forums and you'll find the downloads for them. I currently have the 2.1 gallery installed. Also re: the missing apps drawer, the stock 2.1 launcher is known to be buggy so I suggest using Helix Launcher / Helix Launcher 2. Both are available on the Market. It even gives you quick shortcuts similar to the iPhone dock or the Home ++ shortcuts bar.
     
  16. elektrobix

    elektrobix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just updated my UK milestone and it seems fine. Nice being able to have up to 9 screens!
     
  17. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Did you use OTA or Motorola Software Update?
     
  18. elektrobix

    elektrobix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
  19. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
  20. 4mynikka

    4mynikka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
  21. dancedreamfly

    dancedreamfly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi. I manually updated as well and couldn't see protected apps. I read about a Nandroid backup with a modified build.prop. Since I wanted to stay with my current setup I decided to edit build.prop on my own. See this link over at alldroid for modifications.

    After editing I am now able to see Sleep Log Automatic. I haven't tested it with any other private apps, because, well, I don't know of any. Hope this helps!
     
  22. chyau.00

    chyau.00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    i can see sleep log automatic.

    from Canada/on Rogers/Milestone from HK with 2.1

    although, I was able to see paid apps a few weeks before this update.
     
  23. dancedreamfly

    dancedreamfly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    7
    that's because you updated via Moto Software Update. people who haven't received the update officially will have trouble with protected apps. this would be the people with non-HK milestones who flash with RSD Lite.

    with regards to paid apps, there is no problem with accessing them if youre in a country will official android phones. since canada officially has the milestone, there should be no problem.



    Sent from my Milestone using Tapatalk
     
  24. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Thanks for confirming all that guys, really appreciate it.
     
  25. elektrobix

    elektrobix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
    Some apps that i previously paid for and was using have vanished from the market. Will they eventually re-appear or will i need to re-install the official UK update when it becomes available (if that's even possible now?)
     

Share This Page

Loading...