2.1 updates for USGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. joemonkey

    joemonkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    12
    hi,

    i am in seattle, washington. when i tried to update OTA, it says i have the latest version 1.6

    has anyone in the west coast, united states, tried updating yet???
     

    Advertisement
  2. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    Update is not available for North America yet. Sit tight. It will probably be anywhere from another few days days to another couple of weeks, but it'll come.
     
  3. joemonkey

    joemonkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    12
    thanks for the update. so basically i need to check for update OTA every few days to see if it's available or i will get the update notification on my phone like i do with all the apps i installed?

    i see that you are in canada. will canada and north america be available at the same time i wonder.
     
  4. erixon

    erixon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    lol Canada and North America? Sweet, we're our own continent now :)
     
  5. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    lol, I think he meant Canada and the US

    The shortest answer is "It depends" ... The biggest factor is carrier really. I'm branded with Rogers so I'm probably looking at mid to late November at the earliest. If you have a branded phone, it will take a touch longer because carriers need to re-package the kit with their own brand/software and such.

    If I had to wager a guess I'd probably say we'll see the US and Canada updates around a similar time frame, but there will be variations based on carrier and such.
     
  6. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    Oh and I should add, we are definitely anticipating seeing most updates coming within the month (November), so just keep a heads up here at the forums and I'm sure you'll see people talking about being able to upgrade or not :)
     
  7. joemonkey

    joemonkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    12
    i supposed if we had waited this long, another 2-3 weeks is not going to kill us. am i correct that i will get an update message on the phone or i need to check it manually every few days??
     
  8. sonspot

    sonspot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello, long time reader here, finally joined the forum, I'm in Canada, I did the world 2.1 update thats posted over @ XDA, easy and to the point,. if 2.1 does not work out a 8+ months for 2.2 or 3, I'm selling my phone and saying bye bye to sony, I have no loyalty to any company so I'm good,.

    I'm going to play with 2.1 for now and see what happens, I dont need any extra junk rogers may or may add to the update so I have no problem using the world release, just makes sense to me..

    Thanks
     
  9. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah that's pretty much my mentality too. We've come this far, another couple weeks I can deal with.

    As for the update message, I *think* we should get one, but hopefully someone will correct me if I am wrong. Checking manually can't hurt at least. :) When I check my phone's settings under settings -> about phone, I see that it is set tocheck automatically. I can only assume this would generate a message of some kind.
     
  10. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    Also an option for people wanting to go that route. I prefer not to deviate from my branded software though. Males me nervous
     
  11. joemonkey

    joemonkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    12
    you in canada and did just did the 2.1 update via XDA? care to tell folks in canada and the US how to go about doing this?
     
  12. Mitek

    Mitek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. joemonkey

    joemonkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    12
  14. allbutlost

    allbutlost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    10
    No it doesn't. It's saying you can only flash to 2.1 and you can't flash to 1.6 with it.

    Also, that flasher is for x10i ... if you have an x10a, it's really best just to wait.

    For the record, I'm aware of how to do it, I just have no interest in flashing my phone, it's just not worth the bother for me. I'm patient.
     
  15. SelimJ

    SelimJ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if I get the international unlock version from mobilecityonline.com will i be able to get the update earlier, any ideas?
    I have the at&t version, just got it 4 days ago, but not being able to download nonmarket apps and android 1.6 is a bummer. I switched from blackberry torch, I may switch it back to blackberry again or should i wait for the update??
    thanx for ur ideas;)
     
  16. sonspot

    sonspot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not sure what you mean there, wait on roger or do it now, dont see how patients comes in play when I dont need anything extra from rogers, the only thing I can see them adding is the "my account" app, you can download that now, so I pretty much dont need or care to wait on they, a update is a update when its all the same lol :p,.

    Everything looks good, my phone is a x10a and it did not blow up, its making calls and getting msgs just fine and its registered back to rogers yeah, lol. its so simple I got bored lol (whatever that means), I'm a long time PC user using a Mac now and this was smooth,. get dont get it, is up to each of you :), enjoy..

    thanks
     
  17. Jcbpnl

    Jcbpnl Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Im typing this from my x10a that I flashed using the x10i flasher. Everything works. Shows my model as an x10i in system info though. Oh well this will tide me over until a NA release.
     
  18. Wisenos

    Wisenos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    23
    gonna call rogers tomorrow(today) if they have any news
     
  19. joemonkey

    joemonkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    12
    i have x10i too. did you flash it yourself? and how safe is it if it fails in the middle of the process.

    i am a bit nervous about flashing. i think it's best to wait and do it OTA.
     

Share This Page

Loading...