2.1ota can root!!!!General


Last Updated:

  1. ssgtob1

    ssgtob1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sorry about the double threads.....f'd up the title on last one....

    Anyone that cares:

    I have officially went from 1.5 to 2.1OTA and have rooted my phone to Ivans 1.0 overclocked!!!!:D

    Paul: I have a copy of the nandroid backup if you know who I need to give it to
     

    Advertisement
    ACD168, alprazolam and jlrosell like this.
  2. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Link? Info? Or just complete bs?
     
  3. sed

    sed Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    131
  4. ssgtob1

    ssgtob1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    9

    Definitely not BS....I dont have pics.....but I can give you the nandroid backup(not possible without being able to root) from when the 2.1OTA was on my phone(if you know what you are doing)
     
    jlrosell likes this.
  5. jlrosell

    jlrosell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    56
    I believe you. If anyone has followed along, we saw a few hours ago in another thread that it was possible.
    It appears that you have completed the whole process. Congrats.
    Rooting is not for me, but I will give you a Thanks for your bravery in risking your phone in the process to help everyone in this community.
     
  6. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Sweet just skeptical, ya know. Good luck!
     
  7. jlrosell

    jlrosell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    56
    Understandable, but if you check those 2 threads where this whole thing was getting figured out you can see it makes perfect sense why OTA can root.
    1.5 can root, and people that went from 1.5 to OTA still kept the same boot loader.
    The boot loader got changed on anyone's phone who did leaks, and that is what prevents them from leaking.
     
  8. Hercules

    Hercules Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    3
    Patience is a virtue. Glad I waited for the OTA.
     
  9. DFA1

    DFA1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    10
    Can anyone quickly tell me or link, what does "root" do for the phone, why should/would someone want to root their phone.

    Go ahead and get cranky for me not searching the forums for it, theres a ton of 2.1 stuff I'd have to sift through.
     
  10. bjf88

    bjf88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    37
    Try the "ALL THINGS ROOT" section on the main page of this forum...

    But in short: hacks into the phone to give you administrator privilages. Basically.
     
  11. davros

    davros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    15
    :( still can't root the leak tho, right ? Damn you boot loader.

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  12. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    Thanks SSGTOB1. I'm happy that you are able to experience root. How could any of us leakers have known that a 1.5 root would be discovered a week later? :(
     
  13. davros

    davros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yep, almost the next week to the day I installed the first leak.

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  14. dawynkoop

    dawynkoop Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4

Share This Page

Loading...