2.2 FM Radio


Last Updated:

  1. Scary

    Scary Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    I upgraded to 2.2 at the weekend and used the radio for the first time today. It's changed! It's now blue and black rather than that horrible orange but the main change is that the RDS actually seems to work.... well better than it did anyway.

    Instead of grabbing the station name when it felt like it, it now renames the stations fairly reliably. The only problem is that it seems to use the dynamic scrolling data rather than the static station name. Therefore some stations get labelled with part of the current song, station slogan or half a website address.

    I know that it had issues with crashing, I found that it only did this when using the HTC headphones, but I wonder if this has been fixed too?
     

    Advertisement
  2. bfksc

    bfksc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    201
    Yes it does look better, nicer colours for sure, but I find RDS still sucks. Not that it really matters to me because I know the stations I like anyway.
    :D
    I never had any crashes or force close issues with the radio in v2.1 or v2.2, but I always do a factory reset after any update to wipe the phone clean. I think it helps wipe away old cache code.
     
  3. GavChap

    GavChap Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've never been able to get any radio stations. But then where I am is in a bit of a radio black hole, could also be the headphones I use I guess.
     
  4. yenrod

    yenrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    4
    I find the Radio on the Desire a total and utter disaster - it will continue even if I force close it.

    God knows what the deal is with it is but it really dont cut the custard for me compared to the Samsung Monte's which is really really good!
     
  5. MCS81

    MCS81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've just tried the FM radio for the first time after seeing this thread. Seems good to me. There's a big storm over London right now and the quality is as good as on any other radio in the house.
     
  6. NineToTheSky

    NineToTheSky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    37
    You do use the power off button on the top right of the screen (if you're using this new version)?

    I do agree that Samsung's radios are much better.
     
  7. yenrod

    yenrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    4
    NINE - what happens is that if I turn the radio on then go and do something else and then go back into the radio; it tries to turn itself on again AND the progression bar stops just prior to completing its movement from left to right.

    VERY MUCH A PROBLEM - yet the rest of the phone is fine...no glitches at all !

    I'm wondering if its a bug OR just my model ???
     
  8. NineToTheSky

    NineToTheSky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    37
    I tried duplicating that, but it works OK for me.
     
  9. yenrod

    yenrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    4
    Prob. with my model then...avta sort that - thanks !!!
     
  10. Scary

    Scary Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried it at the top of Parliament Hill the other day and it was pulling in stations and RDS names perfectly (although Heart ended up being called ' on's He' and Radio 2 became ' in the after' :confused:
     
  11. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is the reception better since the upgrade?
     
  12. MCS81

    MCS81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah Classic was called Siisac or something like that, I renamed it and named a few other fav stations while I was at it. Easy to do and makes finding them at a glance simple too.
     
  13. yenrod

    yenrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    4
    I solved this prob:

    Its to do with Launcher+ - their isnt a prob in Sense.
     
  14. sarahlaw

    sarahlaw New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    my htc desire fm radio does not even scan stations in 02 shop service usless, all other htc desire phones in other shops are the same as mine. I can only use the radio over the internet! no good when abroad. has anyone had probs with htc desire normal fm radio? any suggestions welcome, (the headphones are working fine) sarah
     

Share This Page

Loading...