2.2 has built in tethering


Last Updated:

  1. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267

    Advertisement
  2. crabman

    crabman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    28
    Interesting considering Google pulled some of the tethering apps off the market due to carrier pressure. I'm wondering if that will only be seen on carrier handsets at the discretion of the carrier? And of course (hopefully) the N1 as the only truly unlocked and unbranded android device to date.
     
  3. zillah

    zillah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does that mean, assuming carriers allow it, I would be able to have my laptop connect to my 3G phone by WiFi? For free!?
     
  4. Jleagle

    Jleagle Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes.
     
  5. fuzio1963

    fuzio1963 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yes and..............NO - you still have to pay for your phone and for the laptop :D
     
  6. zillah

    zillah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wow. Google just gave Sprint the finger...

    I love my N1. And I only want the EVO because it has got more than what the N1 got. But now? No longer. Google has an offer I can't refuse...
     
  7. zillah

    zillah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    :D
     
  8. sourmilk

    sourmilk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    17
    If you're using an N1, i don't see how the carriers can block it or know you're using it as long as you don't over do it with the data usage.

    If you have a locked down phone like the EVO or Droid, then yes, the carriers may be able to block it. Most likely they will demand the feature to be removed from the OS.

    This makes sprint's $29 charge for hotspot sharing for the EVO even more absurd. Leave it to sprint to take a good idea and screw it up as usual!:p
     
  9. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Hmmm, a possible reason for Sprint not to get the N1 perhaps?
     
  10. zillah

    zillah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's not that absurd.

    Mainly because one might overuse the expected amount of data that needs to be used. This puts pressure on a network's resources. Text isn't the same as data. Data takes a lot of resources and is expensive. Remember, unlimited data plans is an American thing. In Europe, you pay by the gig.

    But, I wouldn't be suprised if T-mo didn't block it on the N1. The N1 isn't a very popular phone (not many bought it) and not many people use T-Mo's 3G so I don't think it would be worth T-mo's trouble to try and milk customers. (or worse, make them unhappy) One of T-Mo's assets is its customer loyalty. Hopefully, they will be wise not to mess with it.

    I mean, why pay (or limit) the N1, when EVO is knocking on my door asking to play? ;)
     
  11. Buck Shot

    Buck Shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    11
    I know T-Mobile allows this. They actually have their own /phoneasmodem site that they sent me to when I called about tethering my blackberry. I know sprint can block this and charge. My sister in law did the same thing to her blackberry and they blocked it and tried to charge her. She played dumb and they let her slide.
     
  12. crabman

    crabman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    28
    Sprint has already canceled the n1 Rusty.
     
  13. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Yes, that's exactly my point.
     
  14. sourmilk

    sourmilk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    17
    wifi tether is already available on android if you root. Google is just adding it to 2.2 as a standard feature. there are other apps like PDANet that lets you tether via USB and bluetooth, so this tethering is nothing new.
    android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    There is nothing the carriers can do about it other than block or throttle your connection if you use too much data, usually over 5gigs a month. What sprint is doing is adding it to the EVO and charging you $29 to use it plus $10 for 4g. I guess the only benefit is that there is no data cap, and IF you get 4g coverage in your area you get faster speed. this was a big selling feature for the EVO, but now that sprint is charging for it while it's free on 2.2, sprint needs to reconsider.
     
  15. zillah

    zillah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is that why PDAnet/Root tethering happens to work on T-mo?

    In any case, all this makes me brush off T-mo's shitty coverage for some superb customer accommodation.
     
  16. inspiron41

    inspiron41 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    22
    2.2 will also turn your phone into a mobile wifi spot. which is kind of cool if and when i get a android tablet. and maybe i can actually use my itouch now lol.....

    best thing about google...we ask what would make android better experience and they will deliver. google never cease to amaze me :)
     
  17. zillah

    zillah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    I already use PDAnet but it's annoying to use. What is droolworthy is the wifi tether. Didn't know you could do that on Root. Good to know though since I didn't root my phone! And why need to with google really pulling through?

    Do you know of anyone having experiences with T-mo throttling connections?

    I am in a particular situation where cost doesn't matter in getting an EVO, but for others it is obvious: N1 is the way to go. I am sure that you are right though; Sprint is going to have to reconsider charging for its hot spot. 4G charge is justified IMO.
     
  18. crabman

    crabman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    28
    lol Wasnt sure if you were serious or not.
     
  19. Talderon

    Talderon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    247
    I have been with T-Mo for a bit now and used to work for them and I have never heard of anyone getting throttled. I have seen where customers might get a reminder that they need to share the bandwidth (when they use WAY too much), but no throttle. I had an incident where I had the MyTouch, rooted with USB/Wifi Tethering apps, my Comcrap internet went down, I was in the middle of a WoW instance, so I tethered my phone to my desktop and logged back in to finish the instance.

    Wasn't as smooth as my Cable, but all in all, it was playable. :)
     
    zillah likes this.
  20. Buck Shot

    Buck Shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just realized my wife's cliq (which I rooted) has wifi tether and USB tether. The hotspots works like a charm. Its pretty cool. I wud love to have this feature as cyan doesn't offer. Are there root apps for this
     
  21. alamoe

    alamoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    21
    cyanogenmod has usb and wifi tethering as well as some of the other rumored froyo features
     
  22. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42

    Um, Cyanogen's ROMs have tethering built in - look at Settings/Wireless and Network Settings......."Internet Tethering".

    Works with WiFi or 3G connections.

    I have used tethering to a laptop for 4 months occasionally and it works really well.

    PDANet is a bit crap, sorry.
     
  23. cyberbob25

    cyberbob25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    As mentioned above, Cyanogenmod does have USB tethering built in, and you can install the wifi tethering app...however, that app does not create a true access point like the froyo tethering will...it only supports ad-hoc mode.
     
  24. fangorious

    fangorious Guest

    I have been waiting for something of a Nexus 2 with a better touchscreen (just on principle given the price tag) before upgrading from my 32b MT3G. But if the N1 has froyo with unlocked proper native tethering, I might be able to overlook that. The only thing I've had interest in unlocking my current phone for is wifi tether, but I don't want a custom ROM and from what I've read the rooting methods for both the N1 and the mt3g are really bootloader unlocking methods and you then have to install a rooted custom ROM. Which really renders moot the technical difference between rooting and bootloader unlocking in terms of warranties and the voiding thereof. Maybe a 2.2 mt3g ROM for tethering would be enough to ignore the void warranty concern.

    /cool story bro, I know
     
  25. Buck Shot

    Buck Shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    11

    this is what i meant. I know it has USB tether built not a wifi hot spot tether
     

Share This Page

Loading...