2.2 Market available for 2.1 romsGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    25

    Advertisement
    ttran97 and thenestor like this.
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Cool find, parts guy. [​IMG]
     
  3. reinert012

    reinert012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    5
    how are you installing this? i cant figure it out. i have the zip file on my sdcard
     
  4. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    You should be apple to select the apk file using Astro (or other file explorer) on your phone, you should then get an option to install.
    You have to have 'unknown sources' checked under menu > applications.
     
  5. reinert012

    reinert012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    5
    very strange, i have it open in Astro but dont see any .apk file.

    I know i sound like a huge noob but im not haha, just not seeing the apk file.
     
  6. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    When I clicked on the download in the link that RVParts put up I got an apk file downloaded to my computer. I'm on a 2.2 ROM, so didn't try the install. Try doing another download and see what you get.
     
  7. reinert012

    reinert012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    5
    hmm, i could flash over to 2.2 but im on a 2.1 right now (im rooted obviously) and i click on the zip file in astro and i see:


    Android manifest
    assets
    classes
    META-INF
    res
    resources
     
  8. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    If it's a zip file, then I'd guess that you flash it from recovery. Though that's not what the instructions on the site say. If you're going to try that, I'd recommend doing a nand backup first - just be safe.
     
  9. djstarion

    djstarion Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I downloaded it, I didn't get a zip, just the com.android.vending.apk

    just put it on the root of my SD, opened astro and selected it, then upgraded. Works perfect.
     
  10. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    I'm also on a 2.2 ROM, so I can't try it myself. The file appears to be mis-named as a .zip file. Just rename the file in Astro, delete the ".zip" (to leave ".apk" on the end) and I think it should install.
     
  11. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,664
    Likes Received:
    22,019
    Well, the site says its an .apk (app file)...not an "update.zip" file...

    Its definitely an .apk file (com.android.vending.apk), so, I'm guessing that its getting saved with a .zip extension? See if the file says com.android.vending.apk.zip with Astro....
     
  12. reinert012

    reinert012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    5
    it does say .apk.zip at the end, going to remove the .zip right now

    edit: working fine now.
     
  13. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    25
    sorry guys...I just downloaded for a second time and it downloaded ass a zip file, not sure why...maybe diffrent hosting servers .....either way if you just change the .zip to .apk it works ...Just installed it on the wifes phone
     
  14. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,664
    Likes Received:
    22,019
    I've had weird experiences in downloading with the stock browsers on both my Eris and my Droid X... I've had the stock browser refuse to download an .apk file where Opera Mini Browser does it without complaint... So, Opera Mini is usually is my go-to download vehicle of choice. :)

    (although this file downloaded just fine today on my X).

    Anyone want to try the download with Opera Mini that was experiencing the .zip phenomenom? (I'm currently using my X, so my Eris is not available at the moment).
     
  15. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    Works perfect on xtrSENSE 4.1. Downloaded just fine as an .apk, installed normally.
     
  16. H2342

    H2342 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've been using evil Eris Rom and I haven't downloaded anything and the new market has magically arrived on my phone. no idea how it updated to 2.2 market.
     
  17. erisx

    erisx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i got this update cuz i was, well, roaming! So i guess since "I was in Mexico" i got it! Easy enough xD
     
  18. mrhomiec

    mrhomiec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    60
    just installed on xtrROM 4.5.

    updating all apps as i speak.
    nice find!


    edit: although 2.2 only apps aren't showing up still.
     
  19. jeffgman

    jeffgman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    18
    I don't think you will be able to get 2.2 only apps. You are running version 2.1 and not 2.2. The new Market just gives us some of the 2.2 Market features on version 2.1.

    Jeff
     
  20. mrhomiec

    mrhomiec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    60
    a little side note, i installed Android Notifier the other day.
    all was well, but then today, i noticed that it's been saying
    "installing" and the progress bar stays at empty. the app
    runs fine. i've tried a Dalvik cache clear, a hard reset, and
    it still tries to "install". i then uninstalled it using App Brain,
    but then the Market still shows it as "installing".

    any help?
     
  21. greenmunky

    greenmunky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    33
    In addition to being able to auto-update and update all, there's also a Market Widget which can be found under Android Widgets... don't really know what it does though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...