2.2 ringtones


Last Updated:

  1. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Does anyone know where to put ring tones in 2.2?
    In 2.1 all you had to do was put them in a folder called (wait for it) Ringtones but that doesn't seem to work in 2.2?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,641
    Likes Received:
    21,976
    Piiman,

    Don't have 2.2 (or root--yet...:p), but couldn't you download a ringtone and then search for where it got installed? I'm a default ringtone kind of guy so I don't really know much about them...but this might work. Just a thought!

    Cheers!

    P.S., you and droider13 and doing a great job helping folks out in the Droid X root forum! Looking forward to rooting my DX when the time comes...:D
     
  3. mezdup

    mezdup Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    17
    yea just browse to it with astro. do a long press and select set as. pick ringtone and it'll now show up in your ringtone list for alarms and what not as well.
     
  4. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    I have an app that downloads ringtones and puts them in Ringtones :p And those are the ones that don't work any longer

    Thanks for noticing. I'm pretty sure Droider13's a bot though:D:rolleyes: he's always in the thread in like 3 seconds flat:rolleyes: No human can move between forum threads that fast!

    Just tried it with the tones I have in /ringtones and the option to play or set as ring tone are greyed out and can't be selected:(:confused:

    does anyone know where the default tones are at in 2.2? I wonder if they put them in the internal memory?
     
  5. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    246
    Just use RingDroid in the app market. Then select the file through it, save as "notification or ringtone" and it will be in the correct folder when you try to change your ringtone/notifications.
     
  6. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    I use ringdroid to make all my ringtones, but all the ones I put in my ringtone folder work just fine with froyo.
     
  7. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    After installing ringdroid they all started working again. But I can't find where ringdroid saved the ring tone I made Lol oh well my old ones are fine again.

    thanks all
     
  8. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Should be in SDcard/media/ringtone or /notifications for notifications, etc
     
  9. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234

    I am not a bot for your information:p
     
  10. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    That's what every Bot says.
     
    Wally World likes this.
  11. voyageurs60

    voyageurs60 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why does everyone post - "this is how I made my ringtones" - I have ringtones from previous smartphones I want to use... this is what people what to hear... not how to recreate the wheel... darn, I have been searching and reading for an hour and NO ANSWER of where and how to install my mp3 or wav ringtones... worthless site I am thinking... (sorry, for you being the center of my rant)
     
  12. qdaniels

    qdaniels New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    add a folder called "ringtones" in /media/ then add files using cut and paste or mass storage, etc.


    -QD

    Samsung Infuse. 2.2
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    541
    You saw the date of the post eh? ;)
     
  14. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    I always move my ringtones into the system/media/audio/ringtones folder and change the permissions. That way when my phone is plugged into a computer it will still use my ringtone if I get a call.. Holy dig-up-an-old-post Batman!!!
     
  15. tlif

    tlif New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Finally somebody who has figured the major hurdle. What good is having them on the SD card when it gets disconnected as soon as you plug in the sync cable? Or if, like me, you have many different SD cards and the sound file happens not to be present on the one that's in the phone right now?

    So is there any way to get them into the system sub-folder without rooting the entire phone? I'd be happy with just a "chmod 777" on the ringtones folder (OK, and on the alarms and notifications folders)!

    BTW: I don't have a Droid. Mine is a S-E phone but I think the general question is the same so I picked up this thread as it was the closest I could find to my question.

    If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing! (Robert A Heinlein, I think.)
     
    scary alien likes this.
  16. aroeira

    aroeira New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    and just did that.... with root explorer, and my mp3 files did not show up when i tried to select them. any ideas ?


    best regards
     
  17. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,641
    Likes Received:
    21,976
    Triple-bonus points for a Heinlein reference! (my favorite author :))

    Cheers and welcome to the AndroidForums...(any Heinlein fan should post here more often ;)).
     
  18. tlif

    tlif New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    One post I saw while scanning the general problem space, said they had to be in Ogg-Vorbis format. .ogg extension. Try converting them and see if that works better.

    If you have no other preference, Audacity is always a good tool for all things audio.
     

Share This Page

Loading...