2.2 still can't paste in dialer or click on phone numbers in browserSupport


Last Updated:

  1. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    Anyone have any work around for this? Also if you are in the sense browser you cannot click on a phone number that has. instead of - and have it dial. you can on the basic Android browser.

    It is these two things that kill sense for me. If anyone has any workarounds they would be much appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
    stainlessray likes this.
  2. cooper1010

    cooper1010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    176
    i can do it. i don't know about the "." vs "-" thing, but i just dialed a # from the browser. i have 2.2.
     
  3. eieio

    eieio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    823
    -----------------
     
  4. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    i don't know why you can't paste in the dialer.... that's a bit of a fail. dialing from the browser is cool, and once you have it in the call history a contact can be added/ammended. but that's not sufficient.
     
  5. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    yeah the paste kills me.

    here is a perfect example. Go here

    cocopazzochicago.com It is a restaurant site.

    Now try to dial from the browser. I can;t. But I have a Droid X here that hs no sense and uses the android browser and can just fine.

    Let me know if I am doing something wrong.

    Thanks
     
  6. Putty

    Putty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    56
    I hate the no paste in the dialer. I have to remember #s
     
  7. cooper1010

    cooper1010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    176

    your pizzas are en route, hope you like anchovies.



    j/k, i couldn't make it work. looks like it's the "."
     
  8. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    Well, yeah. If it has periods in it, how's the browser supposed to distinguish it from just a group of random numbers with decimals?

    Call up Coco Pazzo and tell them this is the U. S.; we use dashes in our phone numbers, not periods. (Semi-)Seriously.
     
  9. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    it should be able to distinguish a ten digit US phone number. most contact apps allow use of "-", "." or just a space.... he did say the Droid Does... <--haha

    btw, i was thinking of starting the Association of Geeks Collected to Monitor the Abuse of Parenthesis and Semi Colons... wanna join?
     
  10. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    The crazy thing is, a lot of web pages use the . now. Why would HTC not allow you to paste in the dialer but basic Android will, and same with that darn web page. Just makes me mad.

    But I guess that is why from what I am hearing Google is trying to get rid of all of these separate iterations of the software. So if you want sense it will be build into the android OS and you can enable and disable at will. That is smart.
     
  11. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    I might take the hit on the parentheses, but what's wrong with my semi-colon?! :p

    lol

    Actually, I was thinking of starting a related group. People Who Know When It's EST And When It's EDT.

    Still working on the group's name, obviously...

    (Go ahead, poke fun at my ellipsis.)
     
    stainlessray likes this.
  12. cooper1010

    cooper1010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    176
    fixed. can i join?
     
  13. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Sigh.. remember the days before Cellphones when you had to write down or remember 7 to 10 digits? Crap I am showing my age.
     
  14. dblake15

    dblake15 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    4
    lol I never even have paper with me anymore. I better start bringing some I guess. :)
     
  15. c17h21

    c17h21 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could always search for it on google and it will let you dial it from google's search results
     
  16. zaaye

    zaaye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    61
    This is a hassle work around no doubt.
    Cut and past number from site, text to self. Then you can click on it in new text message and dial it from there. Even with the xxx.xxx.xxxx format.
     
  17. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    146
    Tell me about it. I can still tell you, without hesitation, the phone number of the woman I had a serious thing for in '93, but if you asked me what my work phone number is, I'd give you a blank look and then pull out my phone.
     
  18. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965

    Yeah funny enough I still remember pretty much every number I memorized prior to 1996 or so. Any numbers I have after that time are lost in time
     
  19. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    96
    I know this isn't the answer you're looking for and may not work for all situations but for this restaurant it does.

    Hit the search button on your phone and type in "coco pazzo chicago". The results page will have a phone number button along with other useful things like a map. This works for every business I've tried.
     
  20. oliverharvey

    oliverharvey New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im having same problem on my Orange San Fran. which is 2.1

    tried all browsers - but keep getting same error

    "Data connectivity problem - The protocal is not supported"

    this surely is not right ?! Any Fix for this problem yet ?

    cheers
     
  21. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    another neat tip... copy number..past it somewhere that DOES allow dial from. (in my case I use a color note widget on my home screen or even text the number to myself or my gf....then press it and viola ... you are dialing.

    silly it has to be done that way but hey..it works
     

Share This Page

Loading...