2.29.405.2 affected browser?Support


Last Updated:

  1. jamienz

    jamienz New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I upgraded to 2.29.405.2 yesterday and since then when I click on urls like Google Maps and Zebra Crossing I don't get the behaviour I got yesterday. I'm using the standard Android browser.

    The first url used to cause me to be prompted to open the Maps app, or use a browser to open the url. The second one would cause me to be prompted to open the Barcode Scanner (the zxing one that I have installed) or use a browser. Now these urls just open in the browser like regular urls, and don't trigger apps to open.

    The maps and barcode apps have been set up to start when those urls are clicked (for an example see line 54 here AndroidManifest.xml - zxing - Project Hosting on Google Code) and I have current versions of both apps so it should be working, but its not.

    Since my 2.29.405.2 upgrade was the only change I made to my phone yesterday I assume this change in behaviour is related to that but realise it might be caused by something else. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to fix this?

    Things I've tried:
    - uninstalling and reinstalling the apps
    - clearing all the browser cache/cookies/history etc from within the browser settings
    - clearing the data for the apps (settings->applications->manage applications->[select app]->clear defaults (and clear cache, and clear data)
    - verifying that the urls I'm clicking on are correct

    Note: within an android app I've written I have an Intent.ACTION_VIEW that gets passed a maps.google.com/maps url, and that still causes the prompt to open the Maps app, or a browser. So this behaviour still works from within apps, just not from within the browser.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Jamie
     

    Advertisement
  2. Audiobear

    Audiobear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have had the same upgrade on my HTC Desire. I've not encountered any problems with the Android browser, although I tend to use Opera Mini more often. Updating the Friends Stream seems slow. But at least I got the FM radio app back working again - in Froyo (2.2) it died on me with an error message on start-up of the app. All other apps seem to be working normally - at least, so far.
    Whither Gingerbread 2.3????
     
  3. jamienz

    jamienz New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if you click on the Google maps link in my initial post above, do you get to choose between opening the url in a browser and the Maps app, or does it just open in the browser?

    Jamie
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Welcome to the forums. :)

    Thread moved to the HTC Desire support sub-forum for you, Jamie.
     
  5. angeltrust

    angeltrust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issue after this update. I do remember, before the update there was a prompt "open in browser" or "open in maps". i set it to "open in maps" and "do not ask again". the phone then displayed some information on how to change this at a later time, if necessary (but i cant remember).

    after the update, there is no prompt and maps are opening in the browser. i dont find any way to reset it to open in maps.

    i contacted the htc support already but no solution yet.

    Maybe somebody *without* updated phone could click this: Google Maps , then, when having a prompt set it to "dont ask again" and post the information the phone will display how to change it back??
     
  6. jamienz

    jamienz New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try settings->applications->manage applications->[select the browser app]->clear defaults. I think that is how you undo those defaults. It hasn't solved my problem but I don't think I have ever selected the "do not ask again" option.
     
  7. Isaac1981

    Isaac1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have exactly the same problem, and it happened at the same moment (upgrade 2.29.405.2) I also tried many solutions like clearing the data or reinstalling Google Maps but it didn't work out.
    This is very annoying for me because I was often using the browser to quickly find adresses through voice recognition (unfortunately Voice actions don't exist in French, my mother tongue).
     
  8. julianbarker

    julianbarker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a completely standard unbranded Desire and have the same problem with URLs not prompting a choice after updating OTA to 2.29.405.2.

    This is what I have just set to HTC -

    I used to get a prompt to choose the app when there was more than one way of handling a URL, but since updating my Desire to 2.29.405.2 (and 405.5) OTA this choice is never given to me. This makes Google Maps etc useless as the browser is always opened instead and is hopeless with maps. The clear defaults button is greyed out in all applications and the phone says no defaults have been set next to each application. There is now no way to open any URL with anything but the browser.

    Other apps I use which have been made useless because all URLs now open in the browser are c:geo and Wapedia.

    Note that when I open a file on my SD card, such as a picture, I am given a choice as to which app I want to open the file with, but not when I click on a URL.
     
  9. julianbarker

    julianbarker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    HTC have come back and said I need to Hard Reset which I am reluctant to do unless it is a guaranteed cure. Has anyone solved this with a hard reset?
     
  10. Solent

    Solent New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here, on a debranded T-mobile Desire. HTC support suggested a hard reset - I had already done that, and it did not solve the problem.

    Support did, however, also suggest a work-around: use a different browser from the Market. I'm now using Dolphin HD, which works perfectly and is also a very nice app. All the urls launch perfectly.
     
  11. scooterboy1981

    scooterboy1981 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have similar issues and have had to install another web browser (Dolphin HD) to get round the problem. Must be a bug with the update (on 2.29.405.5). Ill email HTC and ask for an answer, but expect the same response.......bit disappointed to hear - hard reset the phone, or am I just expecting to much of them to give a proper answer? :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...