2.3.340 is here! Post your experiences


Last Updated:

  1. AshG

    AshG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    24
    It appears that the 2.3.340 update went live around 2 am EST. I am in the process of installing and will report back very shortly with the details of the experience.

    How has the update been for the rest of you?
     

    Advertisement
  2. AshG

    AshG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    24
    Quick update, didn't take too long to download over wifi and the install went just as quickly. Lost root in the process; Z4 still works for rooting so they haven't patched the exploit.

    Baseband BP_C_01.09.07P

    Nice update to the dialer! It's a small addition (having the most recently called contact visible, and then listing possible contacts as you dial to save time) but one that I definitely appreciate.

    No battery FCs as of yet, I've hammered it multiple times.

    A link to Madden 2011 is perma-installed. LauncherPro will hide the link, or use your favorite root tools to make it go away more permanently. This is a practice Verizon needs to stop.
     
  3. Nyrep1

    Nyrep1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    well my 2 biggest issues are not fixed....my music is still in alphabetical order instead of track order, and i keep getting cannot connect to voicemail error
     
  4. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    94
    My update downloaded fine but would not isntall. Im sbf'ing now and will see how that goes.
     
  5. micoyote1

    micoyote1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    Please let us know...and thanks for the root info.....:)

    downloading now.....will post after install

    install failed twice.....rooted here....any ideas?
     
  6. Thatoe

    Thatoe Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. My 3g connection totally went off since 2am. I've been trying restarting the phone and everything. This might be the culprit.
     
  7. Steady_Mobbin831

    Steady_Mobbin831 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    well when you try and load madden it asked you to download something
     
  8. JPYoung

    JPYoung New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's my experience so far:

    [​IMG]

    I've tried three times. I'm only rooted, no custom ROM flashed or anything.

    Next I'll force unroot and try again.
     
  9. AshG

    AshG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    24
    I wish I had an idea to help. The OTA went silky-smooth for me despite being rooted. When I saw the update had gone live, I ran Cache Cleaner NG then rebooted prior to running the OTA. No error messages here. Have you deodexed or changed any system files in any way?
     
  10. micoyote1

    micoyote1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    If you have any frozen bloatware apps un freeze them....I think all apps origional apps have to be available for the upgrade to install....not sure this is the cure but I am trying it now....will let ya know.


    I am going to have to SBF because i am deodexed.....guess i will wait till tomorrow and see what the new update includes......thanks for the input Ash...still kinda new...so you saved me some time and trouble...much appreciated.
     
  11. zdubin9

    zdubin9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im currently in Indiana, purchased the phone over in NJ. went to System Updates and it says there is nothing out and that im currently up to date.. when can i expect this?
     
  12. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    94
    Im in Iowa and my phone is from Jersey too and i got the OTA. Are you on one of the leaks? or rooted? I had to SBF because i was deodexed among other things and the OTA is installing as i type.

    Install went fine, though i guess because of network traffic, syncing with the google servers is difficult right now. Oh, and battery manager DOES NOT FC!!!!
     
  13. Der Juicen

    Der Juicen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    14
    i am in california. i just finished the update with absolutely no issues.
     
  14. zdubin9

    zdubin9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    no im still on the stock device - although i have contemplated rooting on many occasions, i am running a mac and simply do not want to have to download bootcamp or something else to mess around with it. My phone died right as i was checking, maybe that was the problem. It is charging now- im going to wait until about 30% then try to do it again.
     
  15. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    94
    let it charge more then that. you dont need it dying in the middle of the update.
     
  16. zdubin9

    zdubin9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    yeah i was just gonna leave it charging as i pull the update
     
  17. Hrethgir

    Hrethgir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,684
    Likes Received:
    225
    Just did the update on my unrooted DX, and it went fast and flawlessly. Battery Manager worked the first time I tried opening it, and that was the only real issue I've had with Froyo, that thing FCing all the time was irritating. If I run across any issues, I'll post up about then.
     
  18. Nyrep1

    Nyrep1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    cant connect to vmail or market
     
  19. micoyote1

    micoyote1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am in northern IN and I have the update available to download now...I would guess in the next day...but thats just a guess....wifes X also had the update available...maybe do a little update dance then check...lol...its in the IN air...just has to float your way.
     
  20. zdubin9

    zdubin9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    thanks. now im getting a message the check for update was not available at this time? and i tried to sync my phone with backup assistant and it failed. something may be going on with my phone? or verizon?
     
  21. SplicedX

    SplicedX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    94
    It appears that verizon's network and google's servers are bogged down. after i sbf'ed and did a factory reset, i could not connect to the servers. bummer for now since none of my apps came back except for purchased ones.
     
  22. JPYoung

    JPYoung New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    4th time's a charm.

    This time, I "unfroze" the few apps that I had renamed in the /system/apps/ folder. Update went fine then.
     
  23. HardKore

    HardKore Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    games are noticeably smoother! I guess that's included in the ol froyo stability bullet point. Seriously though! My quadrant score was even 150 higher than before. Im stock by the way.
     
  24. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Got The Software Update Failed error. I unfroze my frozen apps and rebooted first. Any ideas? I had done a manual root after froyo, I don't need to unroot first, do I? How?
     
  25. Cetrian

    Cetrian Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just did the update. Downloaded quickly over WiFi and took about 2min to install.
    I was: Rooted (Universal Androot) and with Rom Manager, Koush Bootstrap, but otherwise 2.3.15.

    [Results]
    All looks good! Except I lost root. (no surprise).
    Universal Androot (1.6.1) does NOT work.
    Z4 Rooted just fine :)
    Clockwork Recovery still installed and working (!?)
    Boots 4 seconds faster.
    Seems to take longer to load widgets (never timed my time-to-fully-booted)

    [Versions]
    System: 2.3.340.MB810.Verizon.en.US
    Android: 2.2.1
    Baseband: BP_C_01.09.07P
    Kernel: 2.6.32.9-g55626e1, w30471@il93lnxdroid08 #1
    ERI: 5
    PRL: 52105
     
    eulerphi8 and Caveman419 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...