2 Problems after rooting HTC Desire with T-Mod using Unrevoked


Last Updated:

  1. Chris333

    Chris333 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, ever since rooting with unrevoked i've had 2 basic problems, one i've fixed but think is still there in the background, the other is always there.

    Problem 1 - When I first powered my phone on after rooting, it seemed exactly the same as it was before (same HTC Sense layout, all icons the same) but pressing the home button brought up the "Complete this action using..." option, with HTC Sense as one option, and the standard one (sorry, i cant think of what it's called) as the other. If I chose sense, I got my old home screens back, all my old icons, etc. If i chose the other one, i got a fresh vanilla(i think?) home screen. Unfortunately I've clicked "remember my answer" or something, so it always goes to the vanilla one and i've made a new home screen now, but does this mean my sense ui is always running in the background? I thought at first I may have installed onto the wrong partition, and downloaded Quick System Info to check (saw it suggested by a forum member) but couldnt find anywhere in quick system info that it told me what partition my ROM was installed.

    Problem 2 - I've set my connect to pc setting to charge only, but every time i connect it it's connecting as a disk drive (my computer senses it as a disk drive, annoying popups asking me what i want to do, etc). I'm thinking that my phone could possibly still be running my old UI in the background (ref. problem 1) and that's been set to automatically connect as disk drive?

    Sorry if this has been covered, I've read as much as i could on the topic and couldnt find any information :(
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You can download an app called "lear default home" or you can go settings>applications>manage applications>launcher (or Sense)> clear defaults. This will reset the home screen option.

    Yes, sense runs in the BG if you are on a sesne rom. What rom are you on? You should set sense to a "Blank slate" state before changing launcher.

    Erm, the user interface shouldn't affect the USB disk drive. This is a system setting that the interface just initiates. Have you installed "winamp" or "double twist "lately?
     
    Chris333 likes this.
  3. Chris333

    Chris333 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Winamp >.< damn I feel dumb. So the only difference between sense and the standard launcher is personal preference? I might stick with sense just for the extra screens and because I like the full-screen month-desplay calendar widget.

    Thanks a lot for your help. Is there a way to disable this with winamp?
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    No idea myself, I don't use it. Sorry :(

    I like launcher pro. Its better than both, but still no sense widgets. It has its alternatives though, which are pretty good if you pay the
     
    Chris333 likes this.
  5. Chris333

    Chris333 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh god... went to winamp app --> settings, first option in settings was "Enable auto-mount"... god i'm an idiot. I'll check out launcher pro, thanks again for the help, cant believe i was so worried about that... lol
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Hehe
     

Share This Page

Loading...